follow us on...

Duke’s Sowers (Upper Dublin) among five Tewaaraton finalists

Saturday, 15th May 2021

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 5/15/21
From Press Release

The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the five men’s – one being Duke attackman Michael Sowers (Upper Dublin) – and five women’s finalists for the 2021 Tewaaraton Award, presented annually to the top male and female
college lacrosse player in the United States.

The presentation of the 2021 men’s and women’s Tewaaraton recipients will be made during halftime of the 5 p.m Premier Lacrosse League game between Whipsnakes and Chaos on June 5 at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, Mass. The game will be broadcast on NBC Sports Network.

“We are incredibly proud of these talented student-athletes and all they’ve accomplished this season,” said Jeffrey Harvey, chairman of the Tewaaraton Foundation. “We wish them the best of luck during this year’s NCAA Tournament and look forward to what will be an exciting announcement with our Premier Lacrosse League partners live on the field in Gillette Stadium.”

This year’s finalists feature two returning men’s finalists from 2019 in Maryland’s Jared Bernhardt (the 2021 Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year) and Michael Sowers (Upper Dublin), who was a finalist two years ago with Princeton and was first-team All-ACC with Duke in 2021.

Additionally, Georgetown’s Jake Carraway was the Big East Attack Player of the Year, Chris Gray was the ACC’s Offensive Player of the Year, and Pat Kavanagh was first-team All-ACC. On the women’s side, Jamie Ortega was the ACC’s Attacker of the Year, Taylor Moreno was the ACC’s Defender of the Year, and Charlotte North was first-team All-ACC, while Lizzie Colson was the Big Ten’s Defender of the Year and Izzy Scane was the Big Ten’s Attacker of the Year.

Men’s 2021 Tewaaraton Finalists:
Jared Bernhardt, Maryland – Sr., Attack
Jake Carraway, Georgetown – Grad. Student, Attack
Chris Gray, North Carolina – Sr., Attack
Pat Kavanagh, Notre Dame – Soph., Attack
Michael Sowers (Upper Dublin), Duke – Grad. Student, Attack

Women’s 2021 Tewaaraton Finalists:
Lizzie Colson, Maryland – Grad. Student, Defense
Taylor Moreno, North Carolina – Sr., Goalie
Charlotte North, Boston College – Sr., Attack
Jamie Ortega, North Carolina – Sr., Attack
Izzy Scane, Northwestern – Jr., Attack

The Tewaaraton recipients will be chosen at the conclusion of the 2021 college lacrosse season
by selection committees comprised of premier college coaches who are appointed annually by
the Tewaaraton Foundation.



Latest Headlines