follow us on...

Drexel’s Voelker (Coach of the Year), Delaware’s Robinson (Rookie of the Year), Grant (Defensive POY) among award winners for CAA

Thursday, 6th May 2021

Categories Uncategorized, Posted 5/6/21
From Press Release

Hofstra redshirt senior attackman Ryan Tierney has been named the 2021 Colonial Athletic Association (CAA) Men’s Lacrosse Offensive Player of the Year, while Delaware junior defender Owen Grant is the CAA Defensive Player of the Year and Delaware redshirt freshman attackman Mike Robinson has been voted the CAA Rookie of the Year. Drexel head coach Brian Voelker is the CAA Coach of the Year.

Tierney led the CAA with 61 points this season and ranked second in the league with 41 goals. He became the CAA’s all-time leader in points (247), is tied for the all-time lead in goals scored (162) and ranks sixth in career assists (85). On February 13, in a win over St. John’s, Tierney set a then-CAA record with eight goals and 11 points. The graduate student is the only CAA men’s lacrosse student-athlete among the 25 players named to the Tewaaraton Award Nomination list this season.

Grant becomes the first Delaware student-athlete named CAA Defensive Player of the Year. The senior leads the CAA and is second nationally with 2.40 caused turnovers per game. He has helped the Blue Hens lead the CAA in scoring defense and rank 18th nationally. Delaware won 10 games this season, including a league-high seven conference victories.

Robinson, who also landed on the All-CAA first team, was one of the CAA’s most-impactful offensive players this season. The three-time CAA Rookie of the Week led the CAA with 42 goals and was fifth with 49 points. On Feb. 23 against Saint Joseph’s, Robinson set a new CAA record with nine goals. He also led the CAA with 10.64 shots per game and his five game-winning goals were three more than the second place finisher.

Voelker led the Dragons to an 8-2 overall record, a 6-2 mark in league play and the No. 2 seed in the upcoming championship. The Dragons have climbed steadily through the polls and are currently No. 9/T13 in the national rankings and boast the seventh-best winning percentage in the country at .800. Drexel enters the tournament with a league-best seven game winning streak. The coach of the year accolade is the first for Voelker, now in his 12th season as the head coach of the Dragons.

Delaware and Hofstra each placed three players on the All-CAA First Team, followed by two apiece from UMass, Drexel and Towson.

Tierney, named to the first team for the third consecutive season, was joined on the first team by teammates graduate student Michael Altmann and senior Brian Herber. Altmann is the long stick midfielder on the first team and Herber is the face-off specialist. Herber is seventh nationally in both face-off win percentage and ground balls per game and won 127 face-offs this season.

Joining Robinson and Grant on the first team is fellow Blue Hen graduate student attackman Charlie Kitchen. Kitchen is second in the CAA in assists (24) and third in both goals (25) and points (49) this season. On the CAA all-time lists, Kitchen is second in career points (233), third in career goals (143) and fifth in career assists (90).

Drexel’s senior midfielder Ryan Genord and senior defenseman Sean Quinn also were named to the first team. Genord is tied for sixth in points per game in the league this season and eighth in points per game. Quinn is second in the league and 18th nationally in caused turnovers and ninth in the CAA in groundballs per game.
Graduate student midfielder Jeff Trainor and sophomore goalkeeper Matt Knote are the Minutemen on the first team. This is Trainor’s third consecutive first-team appearance. Knote is second in the CAA in goals against average (10.57) and save percentage (.530) and third in saves per game.
Junior midfielder Ryan Swain and senior defenseman Koby Smith are Towson’s representatives on the first team this season. Smith, who had 13 caused turnovers in 2021, makes his second consecutive appearance on the first team and was named to the All-Rookie team in 2018. This is Swain’s first appearance on an All-CAA team after contributing 15 goals and nine assists.

The 2021 CAA Men’s Lacrosse Championship gets underway on Thursday, May 6, with top-seeded Delaware taking on fourth-seeded Hofstra at 4 p.m. The second semifinal will follow at 7 p.m. between No. 2 Drexel and third-seeded UMass. The two winners advance to Saturday’s championship game at 1:00 p.m. All three games of the CAA Championship will be played at Shuart Stadium on the campus of Hofstra University in Hempstead, N.Y. and will be streamed live on the Lax Sports Network.
Be sure to follow the CAA on Twitter (@CAASports) using the #CAAChamps and #CAALax, and on Instagram (@caasports) for game day coverage. For complete tournament information, visit

2021 All-CAA Men’s Lacrosse Teams

First Team
Name School Year Position Hometown
Charlie Kitchen Delaware (St. Augustine Prep) Gr. A Marlton, N.J.

Mike Robinson Delaware So. A Peterborough, Ontario
Ryan Tierney Hofstra Sr. A Massapequa, N.Y.
Ryan Genord Drexel Sr. M Grand Blanc, Mich.
Ryan Swain Towson Jr. M Westminster, Md.
Jeff Trainor UMass Gr. M Billerica, Mass.
Michael Altmann Hofstra Gr. LSM Severna Park, Md.
Owen Grant Delaware Jr. D Newmarket, Ontario
Sean Quinn Drexel Sr. D Summit, N.J.

Koby Smith Towson Sr. D Lutherville, Md.
Brian Herber Hofstra Sr. FO Smithtown, N.Y.
Matt Knote UMass So. GK Speonk, N.Y.

Second Team
Name School Year Position Hometown

Dylan Beckwith Fairfield Gr. A Wantagh, N.Y.
Sean Donnelly Drexel Fr. A Bradenton, Fla.
Tye Kurtz Delaware Jr. A Puslinch, Ontario
Riley Forte Hofstra Sr. M Dix Hills, N.Y.
Jack Mulcahy (Downingtown East) Drexel Jr. M Chester Springs, Pa.
Taylor Strough Fairfield Sr. M Lloyd Harbor, N.Y.
Jack Farrell (Haverford High) Drexel Sr. LSM Havertown, Pa.
Tyler Burns Fairfield Gr. D Milford, Conn.
Sam Eisenstadt UMass Sr. D Needham, Mass.
Keegan Santos Hofstra Sr. D Wilmington, N.C.
Zack Hochman UMass So. FO Milford, Conn.
Shane Brennan Towson Jr. GK Huntington Station, N.Y.

All-Rookie Team
Name School Year Position Hometown
Cam Acchione Delaware Fr. M Barrie, Ontario

Dillon Arrant UMass Fr. A Concord, N.H.
Colin Consoli Fairfield Fr. GK Glen Rock, N.J.
Sean Donnelly Drexel Fr. A Bradenton, Fla.
Andrew Milani Towson Fr. A Catonsville, Md.
Reece Potter Towson So. M Brighton, Mich.
Mike Robinson Delaware So. A Peterborough, Ontario
Joe Speers Delaware Fr. LSM Glenview, Ill.

Justin Sykes Hofstra Fr. M Oakville, Ontario
Luke Tomak Drexel Fr. A New Haven, Conn.

2021 CAA Offensive Player of the Year: Ryan Tierney, Hofstra
2021 CAA Defensive Player of the Year: Owen Grant, Delaware
2021 CAA Rookie of the Year: Mike Robinson, Delaware
2021 CAA Coach of the Year: Brian Voelker, Drexel


Latest Headlines