follow us on...

All-time Philly boys’ coach win leaders; Radnor’s Begier, Urso, Dolphin joined 200-win list this year

Wednesday, 30th June 2021

Categories Boy's/Men's, High School, Posted 6/30/21

Radnor’s John Begier, Garnet Valley’s Frank Urso and Allentown Central Catholic’s Dan Dolphin all reached the 200-win plateau this year, adding to the list of all-time Philly coach win leaders.

Below are the all-time win leaders for Philly boys’ coaches.

Note: These statistics were compiled mostly from or in partnership with

Frank Urso won his 200th game in a PIAA win over Cumberland Valley

Wins, Coach, High Schools, Years Coaching

512 Bill Leahy (La Salle College) 1992-2019
500 John Nostrant (St. Albans-DC Haverford School, Gilman-MD) 1991-2021

495 Jon Heisman (Springfield-Delco, West Chester East, Bishop Shanahan) 1988-Present
429 Paul Stankewicz (Henderson) 1982-Present
426 Tommy Hannum (Crawford-CAL, Marple Newtown, WC East, Downingtown West, Bayard Rustin, MN) 1985-2019

397 John Linehan (Lower Merion) 1972-2004
374 Doug Bailey (Hempfield HS, Saint Edwards’s-FL), 1993-Present
345 Jef Hewlings (Malvern Prep, Penncrest, Oneonto-NY, Emmaus, Strath Haven) 1983-2021
300 Doug Ellers (Ridley) 1981-2003

290 Allen Fitzpatrick (Lawrenceville School-NJ) 2000-2019
289 Bruce Garcia (Central Bucks East) 2002-Present
286 John Wynne (Episcopal Academy) 1977-1998
281 Bobby Healy (Salesianum School-DE) 2006-Present
279 Wayne Matsinger (Penncrest) 2000-Present
263 John McEvoy (Malvern Prep) 2003-Present
230 Brad DuPont (Tower Hill-DE) 2002-Present
227 Mark D’Ambrogi (Cape Henlopen-DE) 1999-Present
225 Eric Jackson (Avon Grove) 2002-2019
225 Bill Sutphin (Lenape-NJ) 2003-Present
225 Brian Samson (Conestoga) 2001-2014
224 JC Valore (St. Augustine Prep-NJ) 2005-Present
216 John Begier (Radnor) 2007-Present
208 Mark Duncan (Shipley School) 2002-2020
205 Patrick McDonough (Penn Charter) 2002-Present
203 David Sowers (Upper Moreland girls, Hatboro-Horsham & Upper Dublin boys) 1989-Present
201 Frank Urso (Garnet Valley) 2009-Present
201 Dan Dolphin (Allentown Central Catholic) 2008-2021

Close to 200
198 Pete Duncan (Archmere Academy-DE) 2004-Present

E-mail us at for additions/corrections

John Begier (top, second from left) celebrates his 200th win as Radnor coach after an early-season win over Penncrest and led his team to the PIAA AAA championship
Dan Dolphin (with trophy) celebrated his 201st career win in the PIAA AA championship win over Mars. Dolphin retired the next day.


Latest Headlines