follow us on...

Women’s AAC Preseason Poll: Temple is No. 4, seven Philly women on All-Conference team

Thursday, 23rd January 2020

Categories College, Girl's/Women's, Posted 1/23/20
From Press Release

Four Temple Owls earned Preseason All-Conference honors, the American Athletic Conference office announced Thursday afternoon. Senior keeper Maryn Lowell led the team with two accolades, being named Preseason Goalkeeper of the Year and earning a spot on the Preseason All-Conference Team.

Joining Lowell on the Preseason All-Confernce Team is Maddie Gerbert, Kara Nakrasius, and Bridget Whitaker.

Lowell ranked fifth in the league in save percentage (.424) and in saves per game, averaging 7.12. The Poughquag, N.Y. native also came in second in ground balls per game (3.12). Her 50 ground balls last season tie for 10th in program history for ground bals in a season and her 384 career saves are seventh.

Gebert’s 40 goals last season led the team and ranked fourth in the conference, averaging 2.35 goals per game. Nakrasius’ 68 draw controls were fourth in the conference and third in program history for draw controls in a season, while her 139 career draw controls are fourth all-time. Whitaker’s 21 assists ranked fifth in the AAC, with 34 of her 48 shots going on target.

Temple finished fourth in the league standings last season, advancing to the conference tournament in their first year in the AAC.

The Owls are set to open their slate on Feb. 8, hosting George Washington in the first of 12 home games.

2020 American Athletic Conference Preseason Poll and Honors (First Place Votes) (Points)

  1. Florida (5) – 25
  2. Cincinnati (1) – 19
  3. Vanderbilt – 18
  4. Temple – 14
  5. UConn – 9
  6. ECU – 5

Preseason Attacker of the Year
Grace Haus, Jr., A, Florida

Preseason Defender of the Year
Cara Trombetta, Sr., D, Florida*

Preseason Midfielder of the Year
Shannon Kavanagh, Jr., M, Florida*

Preseason Goalkeeper of the Year
Maryn Lowell, Sr., GK, Temple

Preseason All-Conference Team
Maryn Lowell, Sr., GK, Temple

Monica Borzillo (Conestoga), Sr., A, Cincinnati
Morgan Dukes, Jr., D, Cincinnati*
Kylie Nause, So., M, Cincinnati
Sydney Watson, Jr., M, UConn*
Ally Stanton, Jr., A, ECU
Kaitlyn Dabkowski, Jr., D, Florida
Brianna Harris, R-Jr., M, Florida
Grace Haus, Jr., A, Florida*
Shannon Kavanagh, Jr., M, Florida*
Cara Trombetta, Sr., D, Florida*
Maddie Gebert (Owen J. Roberts), Sr., A, Temple*
Kara Nakrasius (Garnet Valley), Sr., D, Temple*
Bridget Whitaker (Springfield-Delco), Jr., M, Temple*
Gabby Fornia (Lenape, NJ), Jr., A, Vanderbilt*
Emily Mathewson (Garnet Valley), Sr., M, Vanderbilt*

*denotes unanimous selection

Temple players on All-Conference Preseason Team are (from left): Maddie Gebert, Bridget Whitaker, Kara Nakrasius, Maryn Lowell

Tags: , , , , ,


Latest Headlines