follow us on...

Tewaaraton Foundation announces it will not give award this year; final Watch Lists re-released

Tuesday, 31st March 2020

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 3/31/20
From Press Release

In light of the canceled NCAA lacrosse season, the Tewaaraton Foundation has announced updates to the 2020 Tewaaraton Award, including publication of the final 2020 Watch Lists for the best men’s and women’s college lacrosse players of the year.

The Tewaaraton Award annual ceremony that was scheduled for May 28 at the Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C., will not be held, and no college awards will be presented in 2020. And while the Foundation will also postpone recognition of the Legends and Spirit honorees until 2021, plans will continue to award the 2020 Tewaaraton Native American Scholarships, presented by US Lacrosse.

The final 2020 Tewaaraton Watch Lists include the top student-athletes in NCAA lacrosse this season, including the initial preseason lists and the first round of additions on March 11.

“There is disappointment throughout college lacrosse and, in particular, those who are seniors who will not return. This was to be our 20th Tewaaraton Award Ceremony and while we share in the disappointment, we also hope our achievement of 20 years following our first 2001 event serves as a reminder of how we will look ahead,“ said Jeffrey Harvey, chairman of the Tewaaraton Foundation. “We take this opportunity to acknowledge and honor all the 2020 graduates for their dedication and passion for the sport of lacrosse.”

In January, the foundation announced Bill Belichick as the 2020 Spirit of Tewaaraton recipient and Kelly Amonte Hiller and Dave Pietramala as the 2020 Legends Award honorees. All three will be honored at the 2021 Award Ceremony scheduled for June 3, 2021, which is the Thursday after the NCAA Championships.

Continuing in 2020 are the Tewaaraton Native American Scholarships, which are awarded to one male and one female student each year, honoring high school players of Haudenosaunee heritage who demonstrate academic excellence, and exemplify high character and leadership both on and off the lacrosse field. Applicants are to submit an essay by April 30 describing what the sport of lacrosse means to them as Native American student-athletes and members of their communities, as well as provide two letters of recommendation and a high school transcript.

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are comprised of premier college coaches and are appointed annually by the Tewaaraton Foundation.

Mike Adler Saint Joseph’s Goalkeeper Sr.
Dox Aitken (Haverford School) Virginia Midfield Sr.
Grant Ament (Haverford School) Penn State Attack Sr.

Dylan Beckwith Fairfield Attack Sr.
Jared Bernhardt Maryland Attack Sr.
Charlie Bertrand Merrimack Attack Sr.
Reid Bowering Drexel Attack Sr.
Jake Carraway Georgetown Attack Sr.
Jared Conners Virginia Defense Sr.
Bryan Costabile Notre Dame Midfield Sr.
Matt DeLuca Delaware Goalkeeper Sr.
Conor Gaffney (Lenape) Lehigh Faceoff Sr.
Kyle Gallagher Penn Faceoff Sr.

Matt Gaudet Yale Attack Sr.
JT Giles-Harris Duke Defense Sr.
Phil Goss Brown Goalkeeper Sr.
Eric Holden Hobart Attack Sr.
TD Ierlan Yale Faceoff Sr.
Jack Kielty Notre Dame Defense Sr.
Connor Kirst Villanova Midfield Sr.
Charlie Kitchen (St. Augustine Prep) Delaware Attack Sr.

Michael Kraus Virginia Attack Sr.
Tre Leclaire Ohio State Attack Sr.
Danny Logan Denver SSDM Sr.
Ryan McNulty (Bishop Shanahan) Loyola LSM Sr.
Nick Mellen Syracuse Defense Sr.
Jackson Morrill Yale Attack Sr.
Kieran Mullins Rutgers Attack Sr.
Mac O’Keefe Penn State Attack Sr.
William Perry UNC Midfield Sr.
Andrew Pettit (Tower Hill) Lehigh Attack Sr.
Drake Porter Syracuse Goalkeeper Sr.
Michael Sowers (Upper Dublin) Princeton Attack Sr.
Jeff Teat Cornell Attack Sr.
Ryan Terefenko (Wilson) Ohio State Midfield Sr.
Ryan Tierney Hofstra Attack Sr.
Jamie Trimboli Syracuse Midfield Sr.
Ethan Walker Denver Attack Sr.
Will Yorke Bucknell Attack Sr.
George Baughan (Springfield-Montco) Princeton Defense Jr.
Adam Charalambides Rutgers Attack Jr.
Brendan Curry Syracuse Midfield Jr.
Bubba Fairman Maryland Midfield Jr.
Chris Fake (Hun School) Yale Defense Jr.
Chris Gray UNC Attack Jr.
Jack Hannah Denver Midfield Jr.
Ryan Lanchbury Richmond Attack Jr.
Kevin Lindley Loyola Attack Jr.
Sean Lulley Penn Attack Jr.
Owen McElroy Georgetown Goalkeeper Jr.
Nakeie Montgomery Duke Midfield Jr.
Matt Moore (Garnet Valley) Virginia Attack Jr.
Tahoka Nanticoke Albany Attack Jr.
Asher Nolting High Point Attack Jr.
Marc O’Rourke Bryant Attack Jr.
John Piatelli Cornell Attack Jr.
Gibson Smith Georgetown Defense Jr.
Koby Smith Towson Defense Jr.
Logan Wisnauskas Maryland Attack Jr.
Zack Cole (Lenape) Saint Joseph’s Faceoff So.
Tucker Dordevic Syracuse Midfield So.
Joey Epstein Johns Hopkins Attack So.
Sean Goldsmith Mercer Attack So.
Sam Handley Penn Midfield So.
Jason Knox Hobart Attack So.
Brendan Nichtern Army Attack So.
Chase Scanlan Syracuse Attack So.
Tommy Schelling Lehigh Attack So.
Wyatt Schupler Army Goalkeeper So.
Dyson Williams Duke Attack Fr.

Erin Barry Penn Midfield Sr.

Katie Bourque Dartmouth Attack Sr.
Savannah Buchanan Notre Dame Midfield Sr.
Madison Carter Penn State Attack Sr.
Samantha Chenoweth Towson Defense Sr.
Tess D’Orsi Princeton Attack Sr.
Sondra Dickey (Conestoga) Lehigh Midfield Sr.

Meghan Doherty Maryland Defense Sr.
Molly Garrett Michigan Midfield Sr.
Brindi Griffin Maryland Attack Sr.
Kali Hartshorn Maryland Attack Sr.
Emily Hawryschuk Syracuse Attack Sr.
Katie Hoeg UNC Attack Sr.
Ally Kennedy Stony Brook Midfield Sr.
Kelly Larkin Navy Attack Sr.
Molly Little Denver Defense Sr.
Lindsey McKone Northwestern Attack Sr.
Kerrigan Miller USC Midfield Sr.
Sammy Mueller Virginia Midfield Sr.
Taryn Ohlmiller Stony Brook Attack Sr.
Alyssa Parrella Hofstra Midfield Sr.
Courtney Patterson Gettysburg Midfield Sr.
Kole Pollock Adelphi Attack Sr.
Sheila Rietano Boston College Midfield Sr.
Kathleen Roe Notre Dame Defense Sr.
Gabby Rosenzsweig Penn Attack Sr.
Maggie Schneidereith Johns Hopkins Attack Sr.
Cara Trombetta Florida Defense Sr.
Cara Urbank Boston College Attack Sr.
Andie Aldave Notre Dame Midfield Jr.
Ali Baiocco Stanford Attack Jr.
Bridget Deehan Notre Dame Goalkeeper Jr.
Molly Dougherty James Madison Goalkeeper Jr.
Sam Fiedler Loyola Midfield Jr.
Sam Fish Princeton Goalkeeper Jr.
Sam Geiersbach Richmond Attack Jr.
Lauren Gilbert Northwestern Attack Jr.
Grace Griffin Maryland Midfield Jr.
Scottie Rose Growney (Conestoga) UNC Midfield Jr.
Riley Hertford USC Goalkeeper Jr.
Quintin Hoch-Bullen Denver Attack Jr.
Abby Hormes High Point Attack Jr.
Maddie Howe Notre Dame Attack Jr.
Shannon Kavanagh Florida Midfield Jr.
Taylor Moreno UNC Goalkeeper Jr.
Risa Mosenthal Brown Attack Jr.
Caitlin Muir Michigan Attack Jr.
Charlotte North Boston College Attack Jr.
Jamie Ortega UNC Attack Jr.
Paige Petty Virginia Tech Midfield Jr.
Livy Rosenzweig Loyola Attack Jr.
Kyla Sears Princeton Attack Jr.
Emma Trenchard UNC Defense Jr.
Sarah Cooper Syracuse Defense So.
Katie Detwiler (Archbishop Carroll) Loyola Defense So.
Izzy Scane Northwestern Attack So.


Latest Headlines