follow us on...

.@THEDUKESLC announces All-time Goalies to celebrate 20th anniversary

Wednesday, 24th April 2019

Categories Boy's/Men's, Club, Posted 4/24/19
From Press Release

The Duke’s Lacrosse Club is pleased to continue its 20th Anniversary Celebration by announcing its All-Time Goalies.

There have been many noteworthy goalies in the Duke’s Program over its 20 years and many have excelled at the high school and college/pro levels. Similar to other positions, choosing the First Team was difficult, but here they are:

From left, Niko Amato, Caton Johnson, Matt McMonagle, Drew Adams

Leading off is Niko Amato. He was a player made for the big time and made for big time moments. He was a cartoon character of sorts, always joking and having fun probably to hide his burning desire to be the best.
He studied his craft partly under the great Brian “Doc” Dougherty and he excelled creating his own legacy with his own unique style. From winning two State Championships at La Salle College High School (earning Player of the Year in 2008) to winning National Club Championships with Duke’s, Amato did it all at the high school level.
He went on to be a 4-year starter, 3-time All-American and Defensive Player of the year at the University of Maryland. Amato currently is a goalkeeper in the MLL with the Chesapeake Bayhawks where in 2018 he shared Top Goalie honors and was under consideration for League MVP. Amato teaches and runs goalie clinics and is the Head Coach at Immaculata University.

Next up on the list is Drew Adams. Talk about unique, Adams never met a kick save he didn’t like. Another disciple of Dougherty, Adams was tall and skinny, impenetrable at times and capable of carrying his team to excellence. He did so at Springfield-Delco then at Penn State where he was a 3-time All American and still holds the school record for saves. Adams went to the MLL where with the New York Lizards he became one of the league’s all-time goalies, becoming a 5-time All-Star, and Goalie of the Year three times while winning a Championship. He also played for Team USA in his storied career.

Our 3rd All Time Goalie Selection is Matt McMonagle. He was “Cat” quick and very much a thinker on the Field. McMonagle was very steady and always in control, directing the defense in front of him but he also stood out and was known for his spectacular saves and pinpoint outlet passes. McMonagle was an All American at Episcopal Academy and a three-time All-American at Cornell (First-Team All-American his senior year on a Final Four team). He went on to have a stint professionally with the NY Lizards. He was recognized as one of the Top Lacrosse Goalies in his Decade by US Lacrosse. While with Duke’s, Matt had one of the biggest moments as a goalie in Duke’s Program History when he stoned the top-ranked club team in the country at the nationally recognized Champ Camp and ended its years-long winning streak.

The Final 1st Team Goalie Selection for the 20th Anniversary Team was the toughest choice to make, but it went to a current college freshman, Caton Johnson. Johnson has already started charting his path to greatness and it comes as no surprise to anyone who has watched him grow up. Johnson has cat like quickness and a unique dedication to his goalie craft that is rare. He has always had a strong family foundation of support but it’s his work ethic and confidence that make him a very, very special goalie. While cementing his abilities on the national stage with the Duke’s Program, Johnson led his high school, Manheim Township, to the Pennsylvania Class AAA Championship in 2018, the first title for a non-Southeastern PA squad. Now at North Carolina, where midway through this season he has taken over as the starter, he delivered a record 21-save performance in leading UNC to an upset win over a highly-ranked Duke University team. Keep your eyes on Johnson as it will be fun to see him in action now and for many years to come.

Harry Oldham, Springfield, West Chester & Duke’s Adult; Austin Kaut, Springfield, Penn State & Florida Launch; Matt Barrett, Malvern Prep, Virginia/Villanova; Ryan Kern, Salesianum/Navy; Kyle Gilfoy, Penncrest/Lycoming; Conor Kelly, Haverford School/Notre Dame; Andrew O’Connell, Malvern Prep/North Carolina; Alex Ready, Manheim Township/ Denver, Will Schreiner, Avon Grove/Penn State; Dustin Keen, Downingtown West/St. Joe’s’ TC Behm, Haverford School/Maryland.

NEXT: The Defensive MVP’S are both Defensemen and will be named with the All-Time Defenseman Team.

Click here to read the All-Time Duke’s Attackmen

Click here to read the All-Time Duke’s Midfielders

Caton Johnson
Drew Adams
Niko Amato
Matt McMonagle



Latest Headlines