follow us on...

Team Philly Command boys’ team reaches championship game at Under Armour Underclass tourney

Wednesday, 3rd July 2019

Categories Boy's/Men's, High School, Posted 7/3/19
Staff Report

The Philly Command Team (2022-23) reached the championship game of the Under Armour Underclass Games last weekend before it fell to Washington DC, 9-5, in the finale at St. Paul’s School (MD).

Team Philly reached the title game with a stunning 8-7 win over previously-undefeated and second-seeded CONNY (Connecticut-New York) as Aidan Kopen (Haverford School) and Andrew McMeekin (Episcopal Academy) each scored twice. CONNY had beaten Philly, 10-2, in round robin play.

That win came after Philly toppled previously-undefeated and third-seeded Long Island, 8-7. Long Island had edged Philly, 9-8, in their first meeting. In that victory, Henry D’Ambrogi (Cape Henlopen) scored twice.

In the championship loss to Washington DC, Max Busenkell (Garnet Valley) scored twice for Team Philly.

“It was a great group of players with no egos, they bought into their roles as the tournament went on,” said co-coach Brendan Dawson (Haverford School). Other coaches were Chris Onderdonk and Drew Artin (Pennsbury).

“I don’t think anyone on Day One or two of that tournament would have predicted us to get to the final, but the boys just kept playing hard and for each other.

“The more comfortable they got with each other the better they played, culminating in a great last day where we were able to avenge our first two losses of the tournament (against LI and CONNY), making it to the final.”

Team Philly reaches the Under Armour Underclass Command championship game

Team Philly roster

1 Andrew Kelly A 2022 La Salle Big 4 HHH
2 Liam Timmins A 2022 Malvern Prep Big 4 HHH
3 Chuck Kuczynski D 2022 Allentown Central Catholic Big 4 HHH
4 Joe Delello M 2022 Germantown Academy Big 4 HHH
5 Jack Pilling M 2022 La Salle Big 4 HHH
6 Peter Detwiler M 2022 Conestoga PA Roughriders
7 Collin Campbell A 2022 Sanford School Team 91 Maryland
8 Joey Doherty G 2022 Malvern Prep PA Roughriders
9 Sam Gerber M 2022 Haverford School Mesa
10 Lucian Li LSM 2022 Manheim Township NXT LC
11 Peter Malitas A 2022 Penn Charter Big 4 HHH
12 Andrew McMeekin FO 2022 Episcopal Academy Dukes
13 Michael Straub FO 2022 Downingtown West/Downingtown STEM Freedom
14 Avi Mehl A 2022 The Haverford School Mesa
15 Colby Bushweller M 2022 Salesianum School Freedom/Dukes
16 Chuck Cacciutti G 2022 The Haverford School Mesa
17 Will Costin LSM 2022 The Haverford School Mesa
18 Hank D’Ambrogi M 2022 Cape Henlopen-DE PA Roughriders
19 Chris Datz D 2022 Malvern Prep PA Roughriders
20 Max Buskenkell M 2022 Garnet Valley Big 4 HHH
21 Henry Bard D 2022 Lower Merion NXT Lacrosse Club, 2022
22 Ben Berger D 2022 Central Dauphin Koopers Lacrosse
23 Aiden Kopen M 2022 Haverford School Mesa


Latest Headlines