follow us on...

Philly men, women named to second round of Tewaaraton Watch List additions

Saturday, 13th April 2019

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Girl's/Women's, Posted 4/13/19
From Press Release

The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the second round of additions to the 2019 Tewaaraton Award Men’s and Women’s Watch Lists. The lists include the top players across all three divisions of NCAA lacrosse and highlight the early contenders for this year’s Tewaaraton Award.

Among the additions are Penn’s Adam Goldner (Malvern Prep) – one of the hottest offensive players in the nation – and Notre Dame defender Hannah Proctor (Radnor).

Delaware’s Matt DeLuca (Photo by Rene Schleicher)

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are comprised of premier college coaches and are appointed annually by the Tewaaraton Foundation.

The mission of the foundation includes honoring the Native American heritage of the game of lacrosse through its annual award, scholarships and educational content. We congratulate Loyola freshman Chase Scanlan of the Seneca Nation of Indians, who joins Albany’s Tehoka Nanticoke of Six Nations as the second Native American student-athlete on the 2019 Watch List.

Men’s Second Round Additions
Matt DeLuca, Delaware – Jr., Goalie
Joey Epstein, Johns Hopkins – Fr., Attack
Adam Goldner (Malvern Prep), Penn – Jr., Attack
Sam Handley, Penn – Fr., Midfield
Kevin Lindley, Loyola – Soph., Attack
Chase Scanlan, Loyola – Fr., Midfield

Women’s Second Round Additions
Sami Chenoweth, Towson – Jr., Defense
Lindsey Ehrhardt, Loyola – Sr., Defense
Jackie Gilbert, USC – Sr., Defense
Kelsey Huff, USC – Soph., Midfield
Shannon Kavanagh, Florida – Soph., Midfield
Julia Massaro, Stanford – Sr., Defense
Lindsey McKone, Northwestern – Jr., Attack
Makenna Pearsall, Notre Dame – Sr., Defense
Hannah Proctor (Radnor), Notre Dame – Sr., Defense
Izzy Scane, Northwestern – Fr., Attack
Mira Shane, Michigan – Sr., Goalie

On April 25, the field will be narrowed to 25 men’s and 25 women’s nominees. Nominees can be players on the watch lists or players not on the watch lists, effectively allowing for a third round of additions. This year’s initial watch list, announced on February 28, recognized the top 50 men’s and 50 women’s candidates for the Tewaaraton Award. The foundation announced the first round of watch list additions on March 21.

Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be announced on May 9 at a live event at the University Club in DC, and invited to the 19th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony in Washington, D.C., on May 30.

Tags: , , , ,


Latest Headlines