follow us on...

.@PennMensLax coach Murphy named F. Morris Touchstone Division 1 Head Coach of the Year

Friday, 6th December 2019

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 12/6/19
From Press Release

Following an historic season for the University of Pennsylvania men’s lacrosse program, Mike Murphy on Friday was awarded with the F. Morris Touchstone Division I Coach of the Year presented by the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA) at the USILA/IMLCA Nike Awards Luncheon in Baltimore.

The all-time winningest head coach in Penn Men’s Lacrosse history, Murphy has won 75 games over his 10 seasons guiding the Quakers. Overall as a head coach, Murphy has 139 wins including his seven years leading the program at Haverford College.

Mike Murphy

Murphy is the third Penn coach to earn the F. Morris Touchstone Award, which has been awarded annually since 1958. Avery Blake was the 1969 recipient, while Tony Seaman won the award in back-to-back years as the Quakers’ coach in 1983 and 1984. The award is named after F. Morris Touchstone, who was the head coach at Army from 1928-57.

This past season, Murphy guided the Quakers to their first Ivy League championship since 1988 and their first outright Ivy title since 1986. The Red and Blue tied the program record for wins in a season with 12 and achieved the highest national ranking in program history (No. 2). Penn also won the Ivy League regular-season and Tournament championships in the same season for the first time in program history.

After a 6-0 Ivy League regular season—the first undefeated conference season for the Quakers since 1984—the Quakers knocked off Brown and Yale to win the Ivy League Tournament in New York City and earn the No. 4 seed in the NCAA Championship field. The Quakers hosted and beat Army, 13-8, in the first round before falling to Yale in an epic overtime quarterfinal, 19-18. Along the way, all 12 of Penn’s wins came in a row, tying the program record for longest winning streak.

A record seven Quakers were named USILA All-Americans in 2019, led by Sam Handley becoming the first freshman in program history to be named a first-team All-American. In addition, the Quakers had a record nine players named All-Ivy.

During his tenure as head coach at Penn, Murphy has coached 16 All-Americans, 50 All-Ivy selections, and three Ivy League Rookies of the Year. He also has had seven of his players drafted by Major League Lacrosse in the last six years—Zack Losco (Charlotte Hounds) in 2014, Joe McCallion (Denver Outlaws, Haverford School) and Matt McMahon (Ohio Machine) in 2015, Nick Doktor (Charlotte Hounds) in 2016, Connor Keating (Denver Outlaws, Haverford School) and Kevin McGeary (Boston Cannons, Malvern Prep) in 2018, and Tyler Dunn (Florida Machine) in 2019. Dunn also was drafted No. 8 overall in the inaugural Premier Lacrosse League Draft by Redwoods LC, and he joined fellow Quakers McCallion and McMahon as well as classmate Simon Mathias for the PLL’s first season this past summer.



Latest Headlines