follow us on...

Penn State’s Sabia (@fords_lacrosse) picked in first round of MLL draft by Dallas

Sunday, 10th March 2019

Categories Boy's/Men's, Pro, Posted 3/10.19
From Press Release

The Penn State men’s lacrosse program saw Chris Sabia (Haverford School) and Nick Spillane picked in the top-10 of the 2019 Major League Lacrosse Draft on Saturday night in at the NASCAR Hall of Fame in Charlotte, N.C.

Sabia, a defenseman from Harleysville, was selected in the first round at the No. 8 pick and the first selection by the Dallas Rattlers.

Penn State’s Chris Sabia (left), Nick Spillane went early in the MLL draft

“I am extremely honored to have been drafted by the Dallas Rattlers,” Sabia said of his selection. “I’d especially like to thank Coach [Jeff] Tambroni and Coach [Peter] Toner. They have done a tremendous job allowing me to grow as a player and a young man.”

Sabia was selected as a 2018-19 team captain for the Blue & White and was recently named one of 30 candidates for the 2019 Men’s Lacrosse Senior CLASS Award.

On the field, Sabia has started all 51 games in his collegiate career, and has accumulated 59 career turnovers, 89 groundballs, six goals and an assist in his time at Penn State.

The defenseman has earned both conference and national recognition as he was named both a 2017 and 2018 All-Big Ten second team honoree and was a USILA honorable mention All-American in 2017 and 2018 as well.

Spillane, a midfielder from Franklin Square, New York, was the first pick of the second round, No. 10 overall, by the Ohio Machine.

See the full list of draftees below (Philly players in bold).

2019 MLL Collegiate Draft, 1st Round

  1. Ohio: Alex Woodall, FO, Towson
  2. Florida: Tim Troutner, G, High Point
  3. Boston: Zach Goodrich, M, Towson
  4. Boston: Austin Henningsen, FO, Maryland
  5. Charlotte: Ryan Conrad, M, Virginia
  6. Denver: Max Tuttle, M, Sacred Heart
  7. Chesapeake: Pat Spencer, A, Loyola
  8. Dallas: Chris Sabia (Haverford School), D, Penn State
  9. Denver: Daniel Bucaro, A, Georgetown

Second Round

  1. Denver Outlaws: Nick Spillane, M, Penn State
  2. Florida Launch: Sean Eccles, M, UAlbany
  3. Boston Cannons: Clark Petterson, A, Cornell
  4. Atlanta Blaze: Brendan Sunday, M/A, Towson
  5. Atlanta Blaze: Dylan Gaines, D, Denver
  6. Ohio Machine: TJ Comizio, DM, Villanova
  7. Chesapeake Bayhawks: Greyson Torrain, M, Navy
  8. Dallas Rattlers: Craig Chick: LSM/D, Lehigh
  9. Denver Outlaws: Chris Aslanian, A, Hobart

Third Round

  1. Ohio Machine: Johnny Surdick, D, Army
  2. Chesapeake Bayhawks: Curtis Corley (Shawnee, NJ), D, Maryland
  3. Boston Cannons: Nick DeCaprio (St. Augustine Prep, NJ), LSM, Michigan
  4. Dallas Rattlers: Isaac Paparo, LSM, UMass
  5. Charlotte Hounds: Matt Neufeldt, LSM, Denver
  6. New York Lizards: Jack Tigh, M, Yale
  7. Chesapeake Bayhawks: Noah Richard (Henderson), LSM, Marquette
  8. Atlanta Blaze: Colton Jackson, M, Denver
  9. Boston Cannons: Ryland Rees, LSM, Stony Brook

Fourth Round

  1. Ohio Machine: Chris Young, A, High Point
  2. Florida Launch: Tyler Dunn, M, Penn
  3. Boston Cannons: Brent Noseworthy, M, Michigan
  4. Dallas Rattlers: Teddy Hatfield, A, Richmond
  5. Charlotte Hounds: Austin Fusco, D, Syracuse
  6. New York Lizards: John Daniggelis, M, Yale
  7. Boston Cannons: Tyson Bomberry, D, Syracuse
  8. Dallas Rattlers: Jack Jasinski, A, Ohio State
  9. Denver Outlaws: Brandon Jones, D, Air Force

Fifth Round

  1. Ohio Machine: Matt Borges, D, Ohio State
  2. Florida Launch: Joey Sessa, M, Yale
  3. Atlanta Blaze: Brett Craig, LSM, Seton Hill
  4. Florida Launch: Andrew Kew, A, Tampa
  5. Atlanta Blaze: Tyson Gibson, M, Robert Morris
  6. New York Lizards: Connor Farrell, FO, LIU
  7. Chesapeake Bayhawks: Austin French, A, Denver
  8. Dallas Rattlers: Joe Saggese, A, Sacred Heart
  9. Denver Outlaws: Kyle Marr, A, Johns Hopkins

Sixth Round

  1. Ohio Machine: Sam Cleveland, A, Colgate
  2. Florida Launch: Eric Applegate, A, Jacksonville
  3. Dallas Rattlers: Lucas Wittenberg, M, Georgetown
  4. Atlanta Blaze: Eddy Bouhall, D, Lehigh
  5. Charlotte Hounds: Brendan Gleason, M, Notre Dame
  6. New York Lizards: Danny Dolan, G, Maryland
  7. Chesapeake Bayhawks: Warren Jeffrey, D, Vermont
  8. Dallas Rattlers: Fleet Wallace, D, Cornell
  9. Denver Outlaws: Jeff Rowlett, D, North Carolina

Seventh Round

  1. Boston Cannons: James Burr, A, Boston U
  2. Florida Launch: Reid Malas, M, Bucknell
  3. New York Lizards: Decker Curran, M, Michigan
  4. Atlanta Blaze: Jake McCulloch, M, Cornell
    59: Ohio Machine: Alex Heger, G, Robert Morris
  5. New York Lizards: Brendan Kearns, A, Providence
  6. Chesapeake Bayhawks: John Prendergast, M, Duke
  7. Dallas Rattlers: Landon Kramer, M, Sacred Heart
    63: Denver Outlaws: Kyle Pless, D, Rutgers


Latest Headlines