follow us on...

Ridley Masters wins second straight Doug ‘Ace’ Ellers Masters Summer Lacrosse League of SE PA championship

Friday, 3rd August 2018

Categories Boy's/Men's, Club, Posted 8/3/18

The Ridley Masters won its second straight Doug ‘Ace’ Ellers Masters Summer Lacrosse League of SE PA championship, and the third since joining the league four years ago.

Ridley Masters won its second straight championship

The team grinded out a 7-4 win over Bickell Electric Thursday at Maple Zone Sports Village in a game which the goalies on both squads made scoring very difficult. Matt Murray (’95) and Brian MacNamara (’93) handled the netminding for Ridley, both playing very tough between the pipes, with Mac making a key momentum shifting one on one stop with Bickell holding a 2-0 lead in the second quarter, and Murray frustrating the Bickell offense with a many big saves in the second half.

Offensively, the night belonged to Jason “Scrapper” Kilpatrick (’98) who scored five of Ridley’s seven goals. Other scorers were Bob Calamita (’99) and Jimmy Gavin (’95). The team played strong team defense with Chris Bryan (’97) and Rob Tinsley (’03) directing the squad through multiple man downs, and clearing the ball with great efficiency.

Members of the championship team are Marc McKinney, Brian Pot, Devin Mosser, Chris Cap, Jody Dougherty, Mike Friel, Matt McKinney, Dennis Valerio, Brian Bair, Ray Kendrick, Sean Kelly, John Moretti, Jason Willoughby, Paul Middleton Jr, Bob Calamita, Tom Sladek, Chris Hyland, Jason Kilpatrick, Rob Tinsley, Jim Gavin, Jay Whaley, Matt Flynn, Chris Bryan, Chris Calamita, Chris Crooks, Sean Odoherty, Brandon Lawler, Matt Murray and Brian MacNamara, as well as professional goalie warmer upper Paul Middleton Sr.

The team will celebrate the victory with the third Rock Hall Open sometime later this summer.



Latest Headlines