follow us on...

PSU’s O’Donnell (Henderson), UNC’s McCool (Moorestown) named to IWLCA First-Team All-American Team

Thursday, 14th June 2018

Categories College, Girl's/Women's, Posted 6/14/18

The Penn State trio of senior Katie O’Donnell (Henderson), and junior classmates Kayla Brisolari and Madison Carter teamed up for the groups second All-American honors, this time from the Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA).

O’Donnell earned a spot on the IWLCA first team squad, Carter notched a place on the second-team roster and Brisolari found her name in the third-team group. It is the second-career selection to the IWLCA All-America squad for Carter and O’Donnell.

The trio also garnered 2018 postseason honors from the national media panel when Inside Lacrosse released its Division I postseason awards in mid-May. Brisolari, Carter and O’Donnell were also named to the IWLCA All-Region Team (West/Midwest), along with the trio finding a spot on the All-Big Ten squad.

O’Donnell garners her fourth career All-America honor and her first nod to the first-team. A two-time All-Big Ten performer, she finished the 2018 campaign second on the team with 61 goals and 67 points while leading the team with 16 multi-goal efforts, including five games with at least five goals. In her final game as a Nittany Lion, O’Donnell became just the fourth player in program history to eclipse the 200-goal plateau finishing her career with 203 goals scored while also ranking sixth all-time with 227 career points. The senior was one of three student-athletes selected as team captain.

Also on the first team is North Carolina senior midfielder Marie McCool (Moorestown). McCool was named the 2018 ACC Midfielder of the Year and is two-time Tewaaraton Award finalist. The senior midfielder is also a two-time Honda Award nominee and a two-time IWLCA first-team All-America. She led UNC and set a new program mark in draw controls with a career-high 165 on the year. She is a three-time first-team All-ACC performer and is the reigning ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year for women’s lacrosse.

The 2018 IWLCA Division I All-Americans:

First Team All-Americans
Sam Apuzzo Boston College Junior Attack

PSU’s Katie O’Donnell (Henderson)

Dempsey Arsenault Boston College Junior Midfield
Kasey Behr University of Virginia Senior Midfield
Julia Braig University of Maryland Junior Defense
Sarah Brown University of Colorado Senior Defense
Jenna Collins US Naval Academy Senior Midfield
Olivia Conti Towson University Sophomore Defense
Jen Giles University of Maryland Junior Midfield
Katie Hoeg University of North Carolina Sophomore Attack
Julia Lisella University of Colorado RS-Sophomore Goalkeeper
Marie McCool (Moorestown) University of North Carolina Senior Midfield
Elizabeth Miller Boston College Junior Defense
Courtney Murphy Stony Brook University Senior Attack
Katie O’Donnell (Henderson) Pennsylvania State University Senior Midfield
Kylie Ohlmiller Stony Brook University Senior Attack
Megan Whittle University of Maryland Senior Attack

UNC’s Marie McCool (Moorestown)

Second Team
Erin Barry University of Pennsylvania Sophomore Midfield

Madison Carter Pennsylvania State University Junior Attack
Cassie Ekstrom University of Connecticut Senior Defense
Grace Gabriel Marquette University Junior Midfield
Brooke Gubitosi Stony Brook University RS-Senior Defense
Haley Hicklen University of Florida Junior Goalkeeper
Ally Kennedy Stony Brook University Sophomore Midfield
Darby Kiernan University of Colorado Senior Attack
Kelsey Murray Stanford University RS-Senior Attack
Sheila Nesselbush Northwestern University Senior Midfield
Paige Petty Virginia Tech Freshman Midfield
Lindsey Ronbeck University of Florida Junior Attack
Kyla Sears Princeton University Freshman Attack
Caroline Steele University of Maryland Junior Attack
Cara Trombetta University of Florida Sophomore Defense
Taylor VanThof Loyola University Junior Midfield

Division III

Third Team All-Americans
Kayla Brisolari Pennsylvania State University Junior Defense

Lizzie Colson University of Maryland Sophomore Defense
Kaileen Hart Boston College Senior Attack
Ela Hazar University of North Carolina Senior Attack
Selena Lasota Northwestern University RS Junior Attack
Julia Massaro Stanford University Junior Defense
Kerrigan Miller University of Southern California Sophomore Midfield
Sammy Mueller University of Virginia Sophomore Midfield
Grace Nolan University of Connecticut Senior Attack
Taryn Ohlmiller Stony Brook University Sophomore Attack
Sydney Pirecca University of Florida Junior Midfield
Livy Rosenzweig Loyola University Freshman Attack
Gabby Rosenzweig University of Pennsylvania Sophomore Attack
Megan Taylor University of Maryland Junior Goalkeeper
Holly Turner University of Massachusetts Senior Attack
Tianna Wallpher Towson University Senior Defense

Tags: , , , ,


Latest Headlines