follow us on...

US Lacrosse Hall of Fame profile: @LehighLacrosse coach Cassese

Thursday, 24th May 2018

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 5/24/18
From Press Release

Following an All-America playing career at Duke and success in both international and professional lacrosse, Lehigh head coach Kevin Cassese is set to be inducted into the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame this September as part of the Class of 2018, as announced by US Lacrosse on Wednesday. As a player, Cassese was a three-time All-American at Duke before playing on the U.S. Men’s National Teams in 2002, 2006 and 2010, winning two gold medals and serving as captain of the 2010 squad. Cassese recently finished his 11th season as Mountain Hawks’ head coach, helping propel Lehigh Lacrosse into national contention.

Kevin Cassese

Cassese will be inducted as part of the class of nine, which also includes Elizabeth Leigh Bradley Friedman, A.J. Haugen, Alex Kahoe, Phyllis Kilgour, David Morrow, Ryan Powell, Denise Wescott, and Tami Worley. The ceremony is set for Saturday, Sept. 29 at The Grand Lodge in Hunt Valley, Md.

Lehigh now features a pair of Hall of Famers as its head lacrosse coaches. Head women’s coach Jill Redfern (Ursinus) was inducted into the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame as part of the Class of 2017.

A midfielder, Cassese earned first team All-America honors in both 2002 and 2003 after garnering second-team laurels in 2001. Named the National Midfielder of the Year in 2002, Cassese was named All-ACC three times and garnered ACC Player of the Year in 2001 after leading Duke to the first of two consecutive conference titles. A Tewaaraton Award finalist in 2002 and 2013, Cassese went on to an impressive post-collegiate playing career with the U.S. National Team and Major League Lacrosse. The seven-year MLL veteran was named to the All-Star team in 2005 and 2006 for the Philadelphia Barrage, being named MVP of the 2006 All-Star Game. A Port Jefferson Station, N.Y. native, Cassese was inducted into the US Lacrosse Long Island Metro Chapter’s Hall of Fame in 2013.

As a coach, Cassese helped lead the Mountain Hawks to back-to-back Patriot League Championships in 2012 and 2013, along with championship game appearances in 2014 and 2018. Lehigh finished this past season with a 10-7 record, which included three wins over nationally-ranked opponents, beating No. 12 Army West Point (9-7), No. 18/19 Hofstra (13-8) and No. 11/13 Navy in the Patriot League Semifinals (10-9, overtime). Cassese owns a 94-81 career record, which includes eight straight Patriot League Tournament appearances. The Mountain Hawks are the only team in the league to advance to each of the last eight tournaments.

Tickets for the 2018 National Lacrosse Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, sponsored by RPS Bollinger and the Markel Insurance Company, will be available to the public for purchase beginning August 1. Tickets will be sold online at

The National Lacrosse Hall of Fame, a program of US Lacrosse, was established in 1957 to honor men and women who by their deeds as players, coaches, officials and/or contributors, and by the example of their lives, personify the great contribution of lacrosse to our way of life. Over 400 lacrosse greats are honored in the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame, which is located alongside the National Lacrosse Museum at the US Lacrosse Headquarters in Sparks, Maryland.



Latest Headlines