follow us on...

Archbishop Carroll claims 18th straight Catholic League championship

Tuesday, 22nd May 2018

Categories Girl's/Women's, High School, Posted 5/22/18
Staff Report

The Archbishop Carroll girls’ lacrosse team rolled to its 18th consecutive Catholic League championship Monday with a 18-3 win over Cardinal O’Hara at Neumann University.

Archbishop Carroll wins its 18th straight Catholic League title

Archbishop Carroll wins its 18th straight Catholic League title

Katie Detwiler led Carroll with three goals, two assists and nine draw controls while Kelli Ann Matey had three goals and two draws. Carroll led 9-2 at half.

The Patriots (16-2) advance to the District 12 Class AAA title game Wednesday vs. Public League champion Northeast at the Northeast Supersite Wednesday at 4 p.m. That winner earns the league’s lone PIAA Class AAA berth.

O’Hara will face Archbishop Wood in the District 12 play-in game Wednesday (site and time TBA) for the disteict’s lone Class AA berth. The teams split their games this year and the Public League does not have a AA representative.

Alex Cabahug-Almonte added two goals and four assists for Carroll, while Sydney D’Orsogna added a goal and four assists. Madison Henry (two goals, two assists), Julianna Keith (goal, assist) and Jess Sulouff (two goals) also contributed to the onslaught.

Archbishop Carroll 18, Cardinal O’Hara 3

Carroll 9-9-18
O’Hara 2-1- 3

Kelli Ann Matey – 3 goals and 2 DC
Jess Suloff – 2 goals
Alex Cabahug-Almonte – 2 goals and 4 assists
Fabiana Nada – 1 assist
Amber Germer – 2 goals and 3 DC
Madison Henry – 2 goals – 2 assists and 1 DC
Rachel Matey – 5 DC
Margeaux Pawelec – 1 goal
Juliana Keith – 1 goal and 1 assist
Grace Gallagher – 1 goal
Sydney D’Orsogna – 1 goal and 4 assists
Katie Detwiler – 3 goals – 2 assists and 9 DC
Julia Delarrata – 4 saves

Tags: ,


Latest Headlines