follow us on...

.@USLacrosse names men’s team tryout list for 2018 National team

Monday, 15th May 2017

Categories Boy's/Men's, International, Posted 5/15/17
From US Lacrosse

US Lacrosse has named 59 players that have been selected to try out for the 2018 U. S. Men’s National Team. The first round of tryouts will be held July 9-11 at the new U.S. national teams training center at US Lacrosse headquarters in Sparks, Md.

Following the initial round of tryouts, U.S. head coach John Danowski and his staff will follow up with additional tryouts and training weekends at US Lacrosse on the weekends of Sept. 1-4 and Oct. 6-9.

Twenty of the players in the tryout pool have previously played for a U.S. team in Federation of International Lacrosse World Championship competition – either at the senior, U19 or indoor championships. That list includes Ned Crotty and Paul Rabil, who will both be attempting to make their third U.S. senior team roster. Rabil was the MVP of the 2010 FIL World Championship and Crotty scored the game-winning goal in the gold medal game against Canada that summer.

The U.S. is coming off of a silver medal finish at the 2014 FIL World Championship in Denver. The FIL recently announced that the 2018 world championship was moving from England to Israel with exact dates and location to be announced later this month.

Since 1967, the U.S. has won gold or silver medal at every men’s international world championship in field lacrosse. The U.S. won gold in 1967, 1974, 1982, 1986, 1990, 1994, 1998, 2002 and 2010. The U.S. finished as the runner-up to Canada in 1978, 2006 and 2014.

The U.S. men’s national team trains and plays using best-in class products provided by Nike (apparel and footwear), Cascade (helmets), STX (equipment), Warrior (equipment) and SISU (mouthguards). In addition to these partners, Greenfields, MedStar Health, Nationwide, Sports Force Parks and SweatX are official sponsors of Team USA.

For more information on the U.S. men’s national team, visit Follow the team on social media @uslacrosse and use #USAMLAX on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Snapchat and and YouTube.

The 59-player tryout pool is listed below by position:

Name MLL Team College
Michael Bocklet Denver Fairfield ‘07
Ryan Brown Charlotte Johns Hopkins ‘16
Ned Crotty Rochester Duke ‘10
Matt Danowski Chesapeake Duke ‘07
Matt Gibson New York Yale ‘12
Marcus Holman Ohio North Carolina ‘13
Matt Kavanagh Denver Notre Dame ‘16
Will Manny Boston Massachusetts ‘13
Kieran McArdle Florida St. John’s ‘14
Rob Pannell New York Cornell ‘13
Joey Sankey (Penn Charter) Charlotte North Carolina ‘15
Jordan Wolf (Lower Merion) Rochester Duke ‘14

Name MLL Team College
Matt Abbott Chesapeake Syracuse ‘09
Brent Adams Denver Fairfield ‘12
Connor Buczek Florida Cornell ‘15
Mike Chanenchuk Charlotte Maryland ‘14
John Haus Charlotte Maryland ‘13
Myles Jones Chesapeake Duke ‘16
JoJo Marasco Rochester Syracuse ‘13
Sergio Perkovic None Notre Dame ‘17
Paul Rabil New York Johns Hopkins ‘08
Tom Schreiber Ohio Princeton ‘14
Jeremy Sieverts Denver Maryland ‘09
Drew Snider Denver Maryland ‘12
Joe Walters New York Maryland ‘06

Shortstick Defensive Midfield

Name MLL Team College
Jake Bernhardt Ohio Maryland ‘13
Steven DeNapoli New York Hofstra ‘11
Greg Downing Denver Fairfield ‘07
Will Haus Charlotte Duke ’15
Jacob Richard New York Marquette ‘18
Kevin Unterstein New York Hofstra ‘08

Longstick Defensive Midfield
Name MLL Team College
Liam Byrnes Florida Marquette ‘15
C.J. Costabile Chesapeake Duke ‘12
Michael Ehrhardt Charlotte Maryland ‘14
Kyle Hartzell New York Salisbury ‘08
Scott Ratliff Atlanta Loyola ‘13
Joel White Rochester Syracuse ‘13

Name MLL Team College

Mitch Belisle Boston Cornell ‘07
Jesse Bernhardt Chesapeake Maryland ‘13
Matt Bocklet Denver Johns Hopkins ‘08
Tucker Durkin (La Salle) Florida Johns Hopkins ‘13
Michael Evans Chesapeake Johns Hopkins ‘09
Joe Fletcher New York Loyola ‘14
B.J. Grill Denver Marquette ‘16
Matt Landis Boston Notre Dame ‘16
Michael Manley Rochester Duke ‘12
Jackson Place Ohio Bucknell ‘14
Michael Simon Denver Stevenson ‘09

Name MLL Team College

Drew Adams (Springfield-Delco) New York Penn State ‘09
Tyler Fiorito Boston Princeton ‘12

John Galloway Rochester Syracuse ‘11
Jack Kelly Denver Brown ‘16
Brian Phipps Chesapeake Maryland ‘10

Faceoff Specialist
Name MLL Team College

Trevor Baptiste None Denver ‘18
Brendan Fowler Charlotte Duke ‘14
Greg Gurenlian (Springfield-Delco) New York Penn State ‘06
Tom Kelly Denver Virginia
Joe Nardella Boston Rutgers ‘15
Greg Puskuldjian Ohio Adelphi ‘14



Latest Headlines