follow us on...

Spring-Ford wins 7th straight Pioneer Athletic Conference boys’ crown

Friday, 12th May 2017

Categories Boy's/Men's, High School  

By Barry Sankey, Posted 5/12/17

Spring-Ford senior Danny Cassidy scored five goals to lead the Rams to a 9-5 victory over host Owen J. Roberts Thursday night for their seventh straight Pioneer Athletic Conference championship.

The Rams (16-2) have beaten the Wildcats in each of the seven title games and have not lost a league or playoff game since the first meeting with OJR in 2013, a span of 73 games.

Spring-Ford wins its seventh straight Pioneer Athletic Conference championship

“I feel pretty good,” said Cassidy, a Boston University signee “It was my last PAC-10 game. I never lost one so it was not going to be the first one tonight. That was definitely extra motivation.”

Jarrod Marenger added two goals and an assist and Tate Pijanowski had a goal and two assists while Ryan Rosenblum contributed a goal and an assist.

Goalie Kyle Pettine posted 12 saves and got strong support from defensemen Tanner Romano and Gage Warrell.

“We wanted to take some time off the clock, but coach said if you have an open lane, then take it,” said Cassidy.

Spring-Ford went up, 4-0, but senior Austin Koury (two goals) and the Wildcats kept applying pressure and OJR pulled within 4-3 at halftime. JP Capaldo (10 saves) was strong in the cage for the ‘Cats.

“It was like give and take,” said OJR first-year head coach Ben’ Carville. “We were down 4-0 and then, all of a sudden, it was 4-3. We played great with hard work good señor leadersip. I am proud of my guys for what they have accomplished.”

Spring-Ford coach Kevin Donnelly praised Cassidy.

“Cassidy has been our catalyst his whole career,” said Donnelly. “He’s one of the best players in the state, if not the best. We want to play patient, but it’s tough when you have a guy like that who wants to go to goal.”

Donnelly offered high pay for his defense that helped limit the Wildcats in some pressure situations.

Spring-Ford 9, Owen J. Roberts 5
Spring-Ford 2-2-3-2 – 9
Owen J Roberts 0-3-0-2 – 5

Danny Cassidy 5g
Tate Pijanowski 1g, 2a
Ryan Rosenblum 1g, 1a
Drew Giovinco 1a
Jarrod Marenger 2g, 1a
Kyle Pettine 12 saves

Owen J. Roberts
Austin Koury 2g
Joey Tordone 2g
Logan Clefhish 1g
Cooper Chamberland 1a
JP Capaldo 10 saves

Pioneer Athletic Conference Boys’ champions
2007 – Spring-Ford 11, Owen J. Roberts 10, OT
2008 – Owen J. Roberts 15, Spring-Ford 4
2009 – Owen J. Roberts 8, Spring-Ford 7
2010 – Owen J. Roberts 11, Spring-Ford 9
2011 – Spring-Ford 20, Owen J. Roberts 13
2012 – Spring-Ford 9, Owen J. Roberts 8
2013 – Spring-Ford 10, Owen J. Roberts 9, 2 OT
2014 – Spring-Ford 15, Owen J. Roberts 8
2015 – Spring-Ford 8, Owen J. Roberts 7, OT
2016 – Spring-Ford 12, Owen J. Roberts 8

Tags: ,


Latest Headlines