follow us on...

Press release from Tewaaraton Foundation honoring Rambo (@LaSalle_Sports, @THEDUKESLC), Stukenberg as winners

Thursday, 1st June 2017

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Girl's/Women's, Posted 6/1/17
From Press Release

The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced University of Maryland attackman Matt Rambo (La Salle, Duke’s LC) and University of Maryland midfielder Zoe Stukenberg as the men’s and women’s winners of the 17th annual Tewaaraton Award, presented by Under Armour. The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and top female college lacrosse players in the United States.

This is the first time in the award’s history that two players from the same school have won the award in the same year.

The all-time points and goals leader in Maryland’s prestigious history, Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year Matt Rambo led the Terps to their first national championship since 1975 and fourth
straight Final Four appearance. The three-time USILA All-American helped the Terrapins to a Big Ten Championship and NCAA Tournament No. 1 overall seed for a second consecutive season. In the process, he became the first Terp to notch more than 40 goals and 40 assists in a single season, and earned the USILA Lt. Raymond J. Enners Outstanding Player Award.

Rambo’s 87 points and 45 assists were best in the Big Ten and good for third and fourth in the nation, respectively. The senior attackman from Glenside, Pa., is Maryland’s first men’s Tewaaraton winner, the program’s second finalist (Joe Walters, 2006) and the first winner from the Big Ten Conference.

The five men’s finalists were University of Denver faceoff specialist Trevor Baptiste, University at Albany attackman Connor Fields, Yale University attackman Ben Reeves and Loyola (Md.)
University attackman Pat Spence, and Rambo.

Maryland co-captain Zoe Stukenberg led the Terps to a 23-0 record, including the Big Ten regular season and tournament titles, No. 1 seed in the NCAA Tournament, a ninth consecutive trip to the Final Four and 14th national championship—the program’s third in four years. A first-team IWLCA All-American, the senior was named Big Ten Midfielder of the Year and was a Big Ten and NCAA All-Tournament Team honoree. The Ellicott City, Md., native ranked in the top three of every statistical category for the Terps, with 53 goals, 31 assists, 84 points, a team-best 48 ground balls, 74 draw controls and 21 caused turnovers—all of which were career highs. She continues the Terrapins’ six-year run of Tewaaraton winners (eighth all-time), following Katie Schwarzmann (2012, 2013) and Taylor Cummings (2014, 2015, 2016).

The five women’s finalists were University of Maryland defender Nadine Hadnagy, Princeton attacker Olivia Hompe, University of North Carolina midfielder Marie McCool 9Moorestown), Stony Brook University attacker Kylie Ohlmiller, and Stukenberg.

“We are honored to recognize Matt Rambo and Zoe Stukenberg as talented individuals and student-athletes who perfectly represent the Tewaaraton Award and the sport of lacrosse,” said Jeffrey T. Harvey, chairman of the Tewaaraton Foundation. “Matt’s historic season helped the Terps win their first NCAA title in 42 years, and Zoe’s leadership and comprehensive play helped Maryland continue its amazing run of success in women’s lacrosse.”

Tags: , ,


Latest Headlines