follow us on...

.@PennStateMLAX earns 7th seed in NCAA D1 field and home date Saturday with Towson

Sunday, 7th May 2017

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 5/7/17

The NCAA Division I Men’s Lacrosse Committee announced the field for its championship tournament on Sunday.

The following conferences and their representatives received automatic qualification:
Automatic qualifiers CONFERENCE SCHOOL
America East Conference Albany (New York)
Big East Conference Marquette
Colonial Athletic Conference Towson
Big Ten Conference Maryland
The Ivy League Yale
Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference Monmouth
Northeast Conference Bryant
Patriot League Loyola Maryland
Southern Conference Air Force

The remainder of the field was selected at large:
At-large bids (alphabetically): Denver Duke
Johns Hopkins North Carolina
Notre Dame Ohio State
Penn State Syracuse

The opening round game between Bryant and Monmouth will take place Wednesday, May 10 in Smithfield, Rhode Island. The eight, first-round contests will be held the weekend of May 13-14.

Maryland received the No. 1 overall seed and will face the winner of the Bryant and Monmouth opening round game, May 14 at 2:30 p.m. ET. No. 2 seed Syracuse will host Yale on May 14 at 7:30 p.m. ET. Ohio State, the No. 3 seed, will host Loyola Maryland May 14 at 5 p.m. ET. Notre Dame is the No. 4 seed and will host the Big East champion Marquette Golden Eagles May 14 at noon ET.

The No. 5 seed Denver Pioneers will host Air Force May 13 at 5 p.m. ET. As the No. 6 seed, Johns Hopkins will host Duke May 13 at 2:30 p.m. ET. No. 7 Penn State will host Towson May 13 at noon ET, while Albany (New York) will host North Carolina as the No. 8 seed May 13 at 7:30 p.m. ET.

All Division I first round games will be televised on ESPNU. The quarterfinal games will all be televised on ESPN2 or ESPNU on May 20 at James M. Shuart Stadium in Hempstead, New York or Delaware Stadium in Newark, Delaware on May 21. The Division I semifinal and championship games, and the Division II and III championship games, will be held at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, Massachusetts, May 27-29 and hosted by Harvard University. The Division I semifinals will be televised live on ESPN2 starting at noon ET, May 27. The championship game will be televised live on ESPN2 starting at 1 p.m. ET on May 29.

For additional information, including purchasing tickets for each round of the lacrosse championship, game times and location, please visit



Latest Headlines