follow us on...

Maryland’s Rambo (La Salle, Duke’s LC) is Tewaaraton finalist; leads Terps today in NCAAs vs. Bryant

Sunday, 14th May 2017

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 5/14/17
From Press Release

Maryland men’s lacrosse senior attackman Matt Rambo (La Salle, Duke’s LC) has been named one of five finalists for the 2017 Tewaaraton Award, presented by Under Armour. The award has been given annually since 2001 to the most outstanding Division I college lacrosse player.

Matt Rambo is seen in action this year against St. Joseph’s (Photo by Rene Schleicher)

The finalists will be invited to Washington, D.C., for the 17th annual ceremony on June 1.

Rambo is just the second player in Maryland history to be named a finalist for the Tewaaraton Award, joining Joe Walters (2006). The Terrapins have never had a winner of the prestigious award, which is the equivalent of college football’s Heisman Trophy.

Rambo will be joined at the ceremony by fellow finalists, Trevor Baptiste (Denver), Connor Fields (Albany), Ben Reeves (Yale) and Patrick Spencer (Loyola).

Rambo was the Player of the Year in 2013 when he led La Salle to the PIAA championship.

Rambo will lead the top-seeded Terps today as they opens the 40th NCAA Tournament against Bryant at 2:30 pm (ESPNU) at Capital One Field at Maryland Stadium. The Terps have been to five of the last six NCAA semifinals under head coach John Tillman.

The Glenside native has been nothing short of dominant in his senior campaign, totaling 67 points on 34 goals and 33 assists against the nation’s top-ranked strength of schedule. The 2017 Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year, Rambo currently leads the conference in both points/g and assists/g.

Rambo has pieced together one of the most prestigious careers in Maryland’s illustrious history, leading the Terrapin senior class to a program record 57 wins and advancing to three NCAA semifinals. He leads Maryland into the NCAA Tournament as the No. 1 overall seed for the second straight season and first time since 1973-74.

Rambo recently became Maryland’s all-time points leader, breaking Bob Boneillo’s 37-year-old record. He shattered the record in remarkable fashion against Johns Hopkins, as he totaled the six points needed just 18 minutes into the contest. He finished the game matching his career-high with seven points.

The senior is also just seven goals away from becoming Maryland’s all-time leader in goals. He is looking to break Joe Walters’ record of 153 goals set in 2006.

Rambo is the only player in Maryland history to record 40 goals and 30 assists in a season, accomplishing the feat last year. He is poised to achieve the milestone again in 2017.

Rambo has also compiled one of the best postseason resumes of all-time, entering the 2017 NCAA Tournament as the active leader with 42 points in 11 career games. He totaled 23 points in last season’s NCAA Tournament, shattering Andrew Whipple’s previous Maryland record of 18 points set in 1998.

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and top female college lacrosse player in the United States. Finalists come from a pool of 25 men’s and 25 women’s nominees that were announced April 28. The selection committees are comprised of 16 men’s and 17 women’s current and former college coaches.

Tags: ,


Latest Headlines