follow us on...

Many Philly men, women named as Final 25 nominees for the 2017 Tewaaraton Award

Friday, 28th April 2017

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Girl's/Women's, Posted 4/28/17
From Press Release

The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the 25 men’s and 25 women’s nominees for the 2017 Tewaaraton Award, presented by Under Armour. The Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States.

“This is a remarkable accomplishment for these student-athletes,” said Jeffrey Harvey, Chairman of The Tewaaraton Foundation. “The Foundation and its board congratulates these talented players and their respective teams for being recognized by the Selection Committees as Tewaaraton Nominees.”

Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be selected from these groups, announced on Thursday, May 11, and invited to the 17th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony on Thursday, June 1 in Washington, D.C.

The men’s award nominees include players from 17 different schools, including 2016 winner Dylan Molloy (Brown) and finalists Connor Cannizzaro (Denver) and Ben Reeves (Yale). In all, eight players return from last year’s list of nominees.

The 25 men’s nominees:
Nick Aponte, Penn State – Sr., Attack

Trevor Baptiste, Denver – Jr., Face-off
Jack Bruckner, Duke – Sr., Attack
Josh Byrne, Hofstra – Sr., Attack
Connor Cannizzaro, Denver – Sr., Attack
Jack Concannon, Hofstra – Jr., Goalie
Zach Currier, Princeton – Sr., Midfield
Connor Fields, Albany – Jr., Attack
Nick Fields, Johns Hopkins – Sr., Defense
Jake Froccaro, Villanova – Sr., Midfield
Justin Guterding, Duke – Jr., Attack
Colin Heacock, Maryland – Sr., Attack
Nick Mariano, Syracuse – Sr., Midfield
Dylan Molloy, Brown – Sr., Attack
Sergio Perkovic, Notre Dame – Sr., Midfield
Benny Pugh, Richmond – Sr., Goalie
Matt Rambo (La Salle), Maryland – Sr., Attack
Ben Reeves, Yale – Jr., Attack
Sergio Salcido, Syracuse – Sr., Midfield
John Sexton, Notre Dame – Jr., Long Stick Midfield
Michael Sowers (Upper Dublin), Princeton – Fr., Attack
Patrick Spencer, Loyola – Soph., Attack
Joel Tinney, Johns Hopkins – Jr., Midfield
Zed Williams, Virginia – Sr., Attack
Jake Withers, Ohio State – Sr., Face-off

This year’s list of women’s nominees features players from 15 different schools, led by the University of Maryland’s four and University of Florida’s three. Ten players return from the 2016 Tewaaraton list of nominees.

The 25 women’s nominees:
Sam Apuzzo, Boston College – Soph., Attack
Sammi Burgess, Florida – Sr., Attack
Madison Carter, Penn State – Soph., Attack
Alex Condon, Penn – Jr., Midfield
Ellie DeGarmo, Princeton – Sr., Goalie

Riley Donahue, Syracuse – Jr., Attack
Erica Evans, Canisius – Jr., Midfield
Caroline Fitzgerald, Florida – Sr., Defense
Cortney Fortunato, Notre Dame – Sr., Attack
Nadine Hadnagy, Maryland – Sr., Defense
Molly Hendrick (Manheim Township), North Carolina – Sr., Attack
Olivia Hompe, Princeton – Sr., Attack

Darby Kiernan, Colorado – Jr., Attack
Steph Lazo, Penn State – Sr., Attack
Sarah Martin, Albany – Sr., Midfield
Marie McCool (Moorestown), North Carolina – Jr., Midfield
Michaela Michael, USC – Sr., Attack
Kylie Ohlmiller, Stony Brook – Jr., Attack
Catie Smith (Conestoga), Cornell – Sr., Defense
Paige Soenksen, Colorado – Sr., Goalie
Mollie Stevens, Florida – Sr., Attack
Zoe Stukenberg, Maryland – Sr., Midfield
Megan Taylor, Maryland – Soph., Goalie
Dorrien Van Dyke, Stony Brook – Sr., Midfield
Megan Whittle, Maryland – Jr., Attack

This year’s initial Tewaaraton Watch Lists were announced on Feb. 28 and included the top 50 men’s and women’s
college lacrosse players in the country. Two rounds of additions to the Watch Lists were announced, on March 16 and April 6.

Under Armour returns as the proud presenting sponsor of the Tewaaraton Award in honoring the top collegiate lacrosse
players in the United States.

For more information on the Tewaaraton Award, how to donate to this non-profit or to attend these exciting events,
Like and follow The Tewaaraton Foundation at,



Latest Headlines