follow us on...

.@LafayetteWLAX’s Wilhelmsen (@shgirlslaxx) named Patriot League ATT of Year; All-league team announced

Tuesday, 2nd May 2017

Categories College, Girl's/Women's, Posted 5/2/17
From Press Release

Senior Kirsten Wilhelmsen (Strath Haven) of the Lafayette women’s lacrosse team was selected as the Patriot League Attacker of the Year on Monday afternoon, one of three Leopards named as All-Patriot League members.

Kirsten Wilhelmsen (Courtesy of Lafayette Athletics)

Wilhelmsen was a First-Team honoree, while Leopards sophomores Jane Kirby and Hannah Davey were honored with second-team slots at attack and in the midfield, respectively. Wilhelmsen is the sixth Leopard recipient of the Attacker of the Year award, joining Suzi Farrell, Andrea Dagostino (twice) and Heather McClelland (twice).

A five-time Patriot League Attacker of the Week this season, Wilhelmsen finished up one of the best years in program history. She currently sits at 199 career goals entering Tuesday’s quarterfinal game at Boston U., looking to become the third Lafayette player all-time with 200 or more scores.

The Wallingford native has registered multiple points in every game this season and leads the Patriot League in four different scoring categories, including goals per game (3.71), points per game (5.06), shots per game (7.82) and game-winning goals (4). This marks the fourth All-League selection for Wilhelmsen in her career, earning first-team status a year ago and second-team honors her freshman and sophomore seasons.

Sophomore Jane Kirby put together a breakout campaign in her second go-around on College Hill, sitting at 58 goals on the season, good enough for second in the Patriot League rankings behind Wilhelmsen. She also holds the second spots behind her teammate in goals per game (3.41) and shots per game (7.12).

Kirby found the back of the net in all but one game this season, including three or more goals in each of her last six games. With two goals against Boston U. on Tuesday, she and Wilhelmsen would become the first duo ever at Lafayette with 60 goals each in the same season.

Finally, Davey makes her first appearance on the All-League Second Team after finishing fourth on the Leopards in scoring in 2017 with 28 goals. She tallied at least one score in all but one game this season and finished third on the team in draw controls with 43.

The Leopards are back in the Patriot League Tournament for the first time since 2013, traveling to Boston, Mass. for a quarterfinal matchup with the Terriers on Tuesday afternoon. Opening draw in the first game of Patriot League postseason play is scheduled for 4 p.m.

Attacker of the Year: Kirsten Wilhelmsen (Strath Haven), Lafayette
Midfielder of the Year: Jenna Collins, Navy
Defensive Player of the Year: Caroline Meegan, Boston University
Rookie of the Year: Kelly Larkin, Navy
Coach of the Year: Jen Adams, Loyola

2017 Patriot League Women’s Lacrosse All-League Teams

First Team All-Patriot League
Attack: Hannah Powers, Loyola (So.), Kirsten Wilhelmsen (Strath Haven), Lafayette (Sr.), Allison LaBeau, Lehigh (Sr.), Morgan Young, Navy (Sr.), Cami Whiteford, Loyola (Sr.)
Midfield: Jenna Collins, Navy (Jr.), Julianne D’Orazio (Merion Mercy), Lehigh (Sr.), Taylor VanThof, Loyola (So.), Maddy Molinari, Bucknell (Sr.), Haley O’Hanlon, Colgate (Jr.),
Defense: Bailey Mathis, Loyola (Sr.), Kierstyn Voiro (Moorestown), Lehigh (Jr.), Kristen Yanchoris, Loyola (So.), Blake Smith, Navy (Jr.)
Goalkeeper: Caroline Meegan, Boston University (Sr.)

Second Team All-Patriot League
Attack: Kelly Larkin, Navy (Fr.), Kailey Conry, Boston University (Fr.), Jane Kirby, Lafayette (So.)
Midfield: Lauren Beausoleil, Lehigh (Sr.), Madison Hoon, American (Sr.), Katrina Geiger (Haverford High), Loyola (Jr.), Andie O’Sullivan, Navy (So.), Manuela Cortes, Army West Point (So.), Hannah Davey, Lafayette (So.), Tess MacKay, Holy Cross (Sr.)
Defense: Janelle Macone, Boston University (Sr.), Annie Gilbertson, Bucknell (Sr.), Anna Johnson, Holy Cross (Sr.), Kiersten Spencer, Army West Point (Jr.)
Goalkeeper: Kady Glynn, Loyola (So.)

Tags: ,


Latest Headlines