follow us on...

Archbishop Carroll’s Detwiler named winner of prestigious Heather Leigh Albert Award winner

Sunday, 28th May 2017

Categories Girl's/Women's, High School, Posted 5/28/17
Staff Report

Philly 1 2018 midfielder Katie Detwiler (Archbishop Carroll) was named the winner of the prestigious Heather Leigh Albert award today, honoring the top player at the US Lacrosse Women’s National Tournament this weekend at Yale University.

Philly Team 1’s Katie Detwiler (Archbishop Carroll) accepts the Heather Leigh Albert award as the top player at the Women’s’ National Tournament this weekend at Yale University. Detwiler is joined by father Gene Albert and brother Sean of the Heather Leigh Albert Foundation.

Detwiler helped lead the Philly 1 team into the Onondaga (top division) championship game where it fell to Massachusetts/Rhode Island 1, 15-13.

Also, two members of the Philly 1 team were named finalists for the Heather Leigh Albert award, 2018 goalie Madison Doucette (Unionville) and 2019 midfielder Olivia Dirks (Episcopal Academy).

The Heather Leigh Albert Award goes to the outstanding player in the Schoolgirls’ Division, which is comprised of the top underclassmen from all regions in the nation that compete at the National Tournament. The award’s namesake was a participant in the tournament as a high school player, but died in 1993 at the age of 21. Heather attended Germantown Academy and was a graduate of Perkiomen Preparatory. She later attended Loyola College and Villanova University.

Detwiler is the first Heather Leigh Albert winner from Philly since Taylor Trimble (Episcopal Academy) won it back-to-back in 2009 and 2010. Other Philly winners were Beth Potter (Ridley) in 1994 (the first winner), Emma Hamm (Baldwin School) in 2006 and Amanda Jones (Germantown Academy) in 2007.

“I was surprised (to win the honor),” said Detwiler, who has committed to Loyola. “Even to be a finalist is such an honor. I was in awe when I heard (I had won); I never thought I could accomplish that. We just worked hard as a team the entire tournament.”

Detwiler was happy to play for Philly Team 1, which was coached by her Carroll coach, Lorraine Beers.

“She knows how to get me into the game and to keep my head up,” Detwiler said, “She gives a speech before every game. She told us ‘You’ll never be playing with these people again so take advantage of it and play yourbest.'”

Past Heather Leigh Albert winners
Year Name Team
1994 Beth Potter Philadelphia
1995 Jaque Weitzel South
1996 Sheehan Stanwick South
1997 Sheehan Stanwick South
1998 Kellie Thompson Chesapeake
1999 Lauren Aumiller U.S. U-19 National Team
2000 Kristy Dirks Middle Atlantic
2001 Katie Chrest Middle Atlantic
2002 Kathleen Miller Middle Atlantic
2003 Jennifer Hauser Middle Atlantic
2004 Megan Bosica Middle Atlantic
2005 Megan Bosica Middle Atlantic 1
2006 Emma Hamm Upper Atlantic 1
2007 Amanda Jones Upper Atlantic 1

2008 Kelly Austin Middle Atlantic 1
2009 Taylor Trimble Philly 1
2010 Taylor Trimble Philly 1

2011 Taylor Ranftle Long Island Metro 1
2012 Maeve McMahon Lower New England 1
2013 Kelly Myers Washington D.C. Metro
2014 Olivia Jenner Baltimore Metro 1
2015 Allison Mastroianni New Jersey North
2016 Jamie Ortega Li Metro 1



Latest Headlines