follow us on...

.@SJUHawks_MLAX picked second in NEC Coaches Poll

Tuesday, 9th February 2016

Categories Box lacrosse, College, Posted 2/9/16
From Press Release

The Saint Joseph’s men’s lacrosse team has been picked to finish second in the Northeast Conference this season according to the conference’s preseason poll, it was announced on Tuesday afternoon. Under the direction of fifth-year head coach and back-to-back NEC Coach of the Year Taylor Wray, Saint Joseph’s returns 31 letterwinners, including six All-NEC selections led by 2015 Offensive Player of the Year Mike Rastivo and Rookie of the Year Chris Blewitt, and adds 14 newcomers to the field for the 2016 season.

NEC men’s lacrosse coaches picked Bryant to win its fifth consecutive NEC title in 2016. Hobart closed out the top three, while Mount St. Mary’s, Robert Morris, Sacred Heart, and Wagner rounded out the seven-team poll.

The Hawks will kick off NEC action on Saturday, March 26 at Hobart, followed by Wagner (Apr. 2) on the road, Sacred Heart (Apr. 9) and Bryant (Apr. 16) at home, Robert Morris (Apr. 23) on the road, and Mount St. Mary’s (Apr. 30) at home.

The 2016 Northeast Conference Championship will be held on May 5 and May 7 at the site of the regular-season champion. Saint Joseph’s hosted the last two NEC Championships on Sweeney Field.

Entering their third season in the Northeast Conference, the Hawks own a 12-0 regular-season conference record along with a pair of postseason appearances, including the 2015 NEC Finals.

1. Bryant (5)
2. Saint Joseph’s (2)
3. Hobart
4. Mount St. Mary’s
5. Robert Morris
6. Sacred Heart
7. Wagner



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines