follow us on...

.@LehighLacrosse sr. DEF Eidenshink (@LaSalle_Sports) named Pre-season All-Patriot League

Wednesday, 27th January 2016

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Rankings, Posted 1/27/16
From Press Release

Lehigh men’s lacrosse senior defenseman Casey Eidenshink (La Salle) has been named a preseason All-Patriot League honoree while the Mountain Hawks were selected seventh in the preseason poll, as announced on Wednesday. The voting was conducted by the league’s head coaches and Sports Information Directors. Eidenshink enjoyed a breakout season in 2015, earning second team All-League honors after leading the Mountain Hawks in both groundballs (50) and caused turnovers (23).

Lehigh DEF Casey Eidenshink (Courtesy Lehigh Sports)

Lehigh DEF Casey Eidenshink (Courtesy Lehigh Sports)

Eidenshink was one of three defensemen named preseason All-Patriot League, along with Cam Williams (Colgate) and Chris Fennell (Navy). The Wyncote, Pa. native started all 16 games last season, also dishing an assist to go with his career-high groundball and caused turnover totals. One highlight came against Stony Brook when he held the nation’s leading scorer Brody Eastwood to just two shots and one goal. Eidenshink tallied a career-high six groundballs at Furman and at Navy while recording a career-high four caused turnovers against Boston University. He was also named to the Academic All-Patriot League honoree.

As a team, Lehigh was picked seventh in the Patriot League preseason poll, garnering 54 points. Loyola came in first with 122 points and 12 first-place votes followed by Navy (108 points), Colgate (105), Army West Point (85), Bucknell (70) and Boston University (58). After Lehigh, Holy Cross (29) and Lafayette (17) rounded out the preseason poll.

Eidenshink and the Mountain Hawks open their season next Saturday, Feb. 6 when they host NJIT at 12 p.m.

Like Lehigh men’s lacrosse on Facebook, follow on Twitter and Instagram for continued updates on the Mountain Hawks.

Preseason All-League Team

Attack: Zach Herreweyers, Loyola Maryland, Sr.
Attack: Cole Johnson, Army West Point, Jr.
Attack: Sean Wilkinson, Holy Cross, Sr.
Midfield: Brian Sherlock, Loyola Maryland, Jr.
Midfield: Cal Dearth, Boston University, Jr.
Midfield: Cam Williams, Colgate, Sr.
Defense: Chris Fennell, Navy, Jr.
Defense: Austin Schultz, Army West Point, Sr.
Defense: Casey Eidenshink (La Salle), Lehigh, Sr.
Faceoff Specialist: Sam Talkow, Boston University, Jr.
Defensive Midfield Specialist: Alex Spring, Bucknell, Sr.
Goalkeeper: Brandon Burke, Colgate, Jr.

Offensive Player of the Year: Zach Herreweyers, Loyola Maryland, Sr.
Defensive Player of the Year: Chris Fennell, Navy, Jr.

Preseason Poll (First-place votes)
Loyola Maryland (12), 122 points
Navy (5), 108 points
Colgate (1), 105 points
Army, 85 points
Bucknell, 70 points
Boston University, 58 points
Lehigh, 54 points
Holy Cross, 29 points
Lafayette, 17 points

Tags: ,


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines