follow us on...

.@gvjagslax coach Urso (4-time Maryland All-American) named as a 2016 Tewaaraton Legends recipient

Sunday, 24th January 2016

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 1/24/16
From Press Release

Former Maryland men’s lacrosse star Frank Urso (Garnet Valley head coach) has been named as a 2016 Tewaaraton Legends recipient as announced Friday night by the Tewaaraton Foundation. Penn State’s Candace Finn Rocha is the female legends recipient, while Tina Sloan Green will receive the Spirit of Tewaaraton.

Frank Urso

Frank Urso

“We’re excited that such a great player in Candace Finn Rocha will go down as the first-ever female Tewaaraton Legend,” said Tewaaraton Foundation Executive Director Jeff Harvey. “And also being able to honor one of the best to ever play the game in Frank Urso, as well as a true trailblazer for African-American female athletes is going to make this a truly special year.”

The Tewaaraton Legends Award annually honors recipients who played college lacrosse prior to 2001, the first year in which the Tewaaraton Award was presented. Recipients are chosen on the basis that their collegiate performance would have earned them a Tewaaraton Trophy, had the award existed when they played. The previous four Legends Award winners are Syracuse’s Jim Brown (2011), Cornell’s Eamon McEneaney (2012), Johns Hopkins’ Joe Cowan (2013), Navy’s Jimmy Lewis (2014) and Syracuse’s Brad Kotz (2015).

Urso began his lacrosse career at Brentwood (N.Y.) High School, earning secondary school All-American honors in 1972. At the University of Maryland, Urso become one of four players ever to earn first-team All-American honors in each of his four seasons (1973-76).

Urso played midfield for the Terrapins, winning NCAA Championships in 1973 and 1975, ACC championships in 1973, 1974 and 1976, and still holds the Terrapins’ record for goals by a midfielder with 127. He received the McLaughlin Award as the Outstanding Midfielder in Division I in 1974, 1975 and 1976. In 1975, Urso received the Lt. Raymond Enners Memorial Award as the Outstanding Player in Division I. In 1976, he represented Maryland in the North/South Collegiate All-Star game.

Urso played for the U.S. Men’s National Team that won gold at the 1974 World Lacrosse Championship in Melbourne, Australia. After graduating from Maryland, he played for McGarvey’s Lacrosse Club and Maryland Lacrosse Club. He was elected to the Long Island Metropolitan Lacrosse Hall of Fame and the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 1991. He is entering his eighth season as head coach at Garnet Valley.

In those seven years Urso has a 111-45 record and two appearances in the District 1 final.

“In all my years of playing and watching lacrosse, Frank Urso was the most dominant player I have ever seen,” said two-time All-America teammate Jake Reed. “Yet even more amazing was the type of guy he was in the locker room. He was a fantastic teammate and was always available to help anyone in need. Frank was an incredibly dynamic offensive player with the ability to run by anybody. He was a fantastic goal scorer, but ever more amazing was his vision. He could make passes from anywhere on the field and was the complete player.”

All three recipients will receive their awards at the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony, June 2, 2016, in Washington, D.C.

The Tewaaraton Foundation will unveil the 2016 Tewaaraton Award Watch List live at a special fundraising reception in New York City on Feb. 23. Check for more details.

For more information on the Tewaaraton Legends Award or to attend this exciting event, visit Like and follow The Tewaaraton Foundation at, and



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines