follow us on...

UNC’s McCool (Moorestown), Tumolo (Clearview) earn spot on US Women’s National Team 36-player roster

Monday, 15th June 2015

Categories Girl's/Women's, International, Posted 6/15/15
From US Lacrosse

At the conclusion of a three-day tryout at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, Md., US Lacrosse announced the 36-player roster for the 2015-16 U.S. Women’s National Team.

The 2015-16 U.S. Women’s National Team will train in the lead-up to the 2017 Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) Women’s World Cup in Guildford, England. Ultimately, 18 players will represent the U.S. as the team goes for a third consecutive and eighth overall world title.

Players were evaluated by the Team USA coaching staff, led by head coach Ricky Fried (Georgetown), as well as three selectors from NCAA schools. Liz Kittleman (Columbia) led the tryout event.

A total of eight players that led the U.S. to gold at the 2013 FIL World Cup in Oshawa, Ontario were named to the team, including All-World Cup goalie Devon Wills. The other players were attacker Danielle Etrasco, midfielders Sarah Bullard, Ally Carey, Kelly Rabil, Katie Schwarzmann and defenders Kristen Carr and Jen Russell.

“I thought the energy level from the players was fantastic,” said Fried. “They did what we asked them from beginning to end. The thing we were most impressed with the players that made it, was their progression through the weekend. The picks that we made on the last day were the players that progressively got better through the weekend, and that’s a hard thing to do when you’re dealing with this kind of weather.”

The 36-player 2015-15 U.S. Women’s National Team, by position with school and graduation year noted:

Alex Aust *, Maryland 2013
Danielle Etrasco *^, Boston University 2013
Brooke Griffin, Maryland 2015
Alyssa Leonard *, Northwestern 2014
Becky Lynch *, North Carolina 2012
Kara Mupo, Northwestern 2014
Alyssa Murray *, Syracuse 2014
Mollie Stevens, Florida 2017
Kayla Treanor *, Syracuse 2016
Michelle Tumolo (Clearview Regional) *, Syracuse 2013

Maggie Bill *, North Carolina 2017
Sarah Bullard *^+, Duke 2011
Ally Carey ^, Vanderbilt 2012
Madison Crutchfield, Duke 2018
Taylor Cummings *, Maryland 2016
Lucy Dikeou, Stanford 2016
Shannon Gilroy, Florida 2015
Marie McCool (Moorestown), North Carolina 2018
Kelly McPartland *, Maryland 2015
Kelly Rabil *^, James Madison 2007
Katie Schwarzmann *^, Maryland 2013
Katie Webster *, Syracuse 2014
Laura Zimmerman *, North Carolina 2012

Becca Block *, Syracuse 2013
Kristen Carr, North Carolina 2010
Megan Douty *, Maryland 2015
Alice Mercer *, Maryland 2016
Casey Pepperman, Maryland 2015
Jen Russell *^, North Carolina 2010
Sloane Serpe *, North Carolina 2014
Kelsey Sheridan, UMass 2014
Morgan Stephens *, Virginia 2015
Courtney Waite *, North Carolina 2015

Liz Hogan *, Syacuse 2011
Caylee Waters *, North Carolina 2017
Devon Wills *^+, Dartmouth 2006

* Member of 2014-15 U.S. Women’s National Team
^ Member of World Champion 2013 U.S. Women’s National Team
+ Member of World Champion 2009 U.S. Women’s National Team

Team USA will next gather for a training weekend July 31-Aug. 2 at the University of Delaware, followed by another training weekend Oct. 9-11 in Alexandria, Va.



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines