follow us on...

Philly’s Doherty, Selvage, Cantele women earn coaching honors from IWLCA

Thursday, 19th November 2015

Categories College, Girl's/Women's, Posted 11/19/15
From Press Release

The Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) held its 2015 Honors Banquet this evening at Disney’s Coronado Springs Resort. The event is
one of the highlights of the IWLCA’s Annual Meetings, which are being held at the Coronado’s convention center this week. Amy Bokker, head coach at Stanford University and graduate of Phoenixville High, served as the master of ceremonies for the evening.

According to Alicia Groveston, head coach at Grand Valley State University, and IWLCA President, “The Honors Dinner is the premiere opportunity for us an organization to honor our members, their teams, and their achievements. It is extremely exciting to celebrate how successful our coaches are and how much they have impacted our sport, not only in a year, but also over the course of their careers.”

The program started off with Victory Cub recognition for those coaches that achieved milestone victories during the 2015 season. Seven coaches were recognized for their 100th career victory, while three additional coaches celebrated achieving 200 career wins.

100 Wins: Michelle Dombrowski, Sewanee: University of the South; Jen Fallon, University of New Haven; Elizabeth Ford, The College of Wooster; Heather Greer, Messiah College; Emily Kiablick, Wheaton College; Angela McMahon, University of Massachusetts Amherst; and Scott Teeter, Canisius College.

200 Wins: Aimee Klepacki, Western New England University; Cathy Reese, University of Maryland; and Kristen Selvage (Boyertown), Lock Haven University.

Awards were then presented to the previously announced 2015 IWLCA Regional and National Coaches of the Year in all three divisions. Maryland’s Cathy Reese, Lock Haven’s Selvage, and Cortland’s Kelly Lickert-Orr were honored as the Division I, II, and III National Coaches of the Year respectively.

Division I Regional Coaches of the Year: Jen Adams, Loyola, Mid-Atlantic Region; Gary Gait, Syracuse, Northeast Region; Cathy Reese, Maryland, South Region; and Missy Doherty, Penn State, West/Midwest Region.

Division II Regional Coaches of the Year: Alicia Groveston, Grand Valley State, North Region; and Kristen Selvage, Lock Haven, South Region.

Division III Regional Coaches of the Year: Missy Foote, Middlebury, Berkshire Region; Sharon Pfluger, The College of New Jersey, Boardwalk Region; Jim Nestor, Salisbury, Chesapeake Region, Kelly Lickert-Orr, SUNY Cortland, Empire Region; Emily Fisher, Mount Union, Great Lakes Region; Carol Cantele (Nether Providence), Gettysburg, Metro Region; Liz Grote, Bowdoin College, Pilgrim Region; and Michelle Dombrowski, Sewanee: University of the South, West Region.

Three assistant coaches were honored with the Outstanding Assistant Coach Award. Penn State’s Amy Altig (Division I), LeMoyne’s Jessica Antelmi (Division II), and Kristen Guest from Plymouth State (Division III) were presented with their awards by their head coaches.
The next award was the Team Community Awareness Award, which recognizes outstanding contributions by one team from each division on their campus and in their local community.

This year, teams from the University of Delaware (Division I), Limestone College (Division II), and Randolph Macon College (Division III) were honored.


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines