follow us on...

College preview: @LafayetteMLax seeks to improve in Patriot League race

Thursday, 12th February 2015

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 2/12/15
From Press Release

The 2015 Lafayette men’s lacrosse team opens the 2015 season on the road at Wagner on Friday afternoon. Four senior captains Cory Scheuerle (St. Joseph’s Prep), Sonny Round, Matt Confort and Brian Bock (Spring-Ford) will lead the Leopards this season.

Cory Scheuerle

Cory Scheuerle

“We’re looking for Round and Bock to step up and take leadership roles this season,” head coach Jim Rogalski said. “We are still looking for the right mix, but we have a lot of talent and we are going to be able to play a lot of guys.”

A lot of the talent the Leopards bring back is at the attack position, where Lafayette returns its top seven scorers from 2014. The Maroon and White will have a new look on the defensive end of the field, as two starters from the defensive unit and last season’s starting goalkeeper have graduated.


With last season’s starter Jake Hyatt graduated, junior Ben Falcone and sophomore Matt Cortese are battling for the number one spot on the depth chart at goalie. Falcone saw action in four games last season making one start for the Leopards. He posted a 7.41 goals against average, making nine saves in 89 minutes. Cortese played in two games last season, making four saves against Loyola and a save against Lehigh in 31 minutes.

“Falcone and Cortese are fighting for the starting job,” Rogalski added. “We will see what they can do in preseason and scrimmages.”

Freshman Henry Vido will be Rogalski’s third option this season.


Sophomore Charles McCooe started 12 games in his freshman campaign, collecting 12 ground balls while causing five turnovers for Lafayette. He will be joined on the defense by classmates Erik Cannon and Declan McGuire. Cannon is making the move from LSM to defense this season. He had 37 ground balls and nine caused turnovers in 2014.

A group of freshmen will get a chance this season on the backline. George Cloud, Keith Cameron and Sean McLaughlin have all made strides in the preseason and will be battling for time in the defensive unit.

Long Stick Midfielders

Senior captain Matt Confort, a 2015 Face-Off Yearbook All-Patriot League Team selection, will lead the LSMs this season. Confort played in all 13 games last season, tallying 18 ground balls and four caused turnovers.

“We moved Confort from short stick to LSM,” Rogalski said. “There is going to be a little bit of an adjustment period for him, but we feel he will help solidify our defense as a senior leader.”

Junior Brody Smith and Mike Marchetta will also see time at LSM this season.


Brendan Dunlap returns as the Leopards’ top defensive midfielder. The junior appeared in all 13 games last season, scoring two goals and picking up five ground balls. He will be joined by a pair of athletic freshmen in James Roberts and Owen Green, while sophomore Billy Maltz will also battle for time.

Moving up the field to the attacking midfielders, senior Bock and juniors Morgan Westby (Episcopal Academy) and Mac Gallagher (Shipley School) lead the way. Bock led the team with 15 goals and 20 points during the 2014 campaign. Westby chipped in eight goals and two assists, while Gallagher tallied seven goals last season. Scheuerle returns for his senior season and solidifies the midfield.

Sophomores Dillon Confalone and Keegan Hickey look to make strides in their second season on College Hill. Confalone played in all 13 games last season including two starts. The Summit, N.J. native scored three goals last season.

A group of freshmen including Matt Close (Wilson), Scott McAvoy (Wyomissing) and Will McCarthy are primed to make an impact this spring. Freshmen Jack Appicciafuoco (haverford School) and Julian Lorenzen provide depth in the midfield.


The Leopards return almost all of their scoring from 2014, including junior Robert Orazietti’s team-leading 15 goals. He will be joined by senior Sonny Round, the team’s leader in assists last season with 12 helpers.

Sophomore Jason Sands had a strong freshman campaign, scoring six goals, and he will be looked at to score again this season.

A mix of sophomores and freshmen will make up the rest of Rogalski’s options at attack. Sophomore Kevin Lewis tallied three goals in his freshman season, while classmate Eric Joseph contributed one goal and three assists in 2014.

Freshmen Alex Mezey (Conestoga) and Luke Smith give Rogalski more options in the attacking zone.


Lafayette will rely on four players at the faceoff x this season. Junior Adam Broeckaert led the team with 83 faceoff wins last season. He will be joined by a junior transfer from Hofstra, Giovanni Girardi, sophomore Jack McMahon and freshman Sean Thomas.


The Leopards will take on two teams from last year’s NCAA Tournament, including defending conference champion Loyola and Penn. Lafayette will also play a handful of new opponents during its out of conference schedule, including Sacred Heart, UMBC and NJIT.

Lafayette will also take part in the Third Annual Relentless Cup at Ridley High School in Folsom, Pa. The Leopards will take on Bucknell in the event that is a special fundraising to help support the HEADstrong Foundation.



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines