follow us on...

Boys’ lacrosse: Shanahan coach Heisman reaches 400th win in 13-3 triumph over Henderson

Friday, 15th May 2015

Categories Boy's/Men's, High School, Posted 5/15/15

Alex Wagner collected six goals and an assist to lead host Bishop Shanahan to a 13-3 win Thursday over Henderson in the second round of the District 1 lacrosse playoffs, giving coach Jon Heisman his 400th career win.

The win pushed the third-seeded Eagles (16-1) into the quarterfinals Saturday (2 p.m.) against sixth-seeded Radnor at Harriton High.

Heisman, 88-25 in six years at Shanahan, also has coached at Springfield-Delco (221-68 from 1988-2002) and West Chester East (91-28 from 2003-09), is 400-121 overall.

“I credit my family for always being there for me,” said Heisman. “I also credit my assistant coaches, especially Coach (Paul) Meyers who has been coaching with me for 21 years and has been a part of 300 of the wins.

“Also, the credit goes to the many stellar players I have had the privilege to coach.”

Jerry Riccardo and Eli Goforth each added two goals for Shanahan and Ben Farrell had a goal and three assists.

Cody Pascale, Luke Pennington and Jack Twohig each scored for Henderson (11-7).

Heisman’s team has won three straight Ches-Mont League titles – the first three league crowns in schools history.

“Lacrosse has been a part of my life since 1973 as a player at Henderson High,” he said. “I have always been involved with kids throughout my 30 plus years of teaching. The 400 wins are nice, but the real mission is to win championships and mold young lives.”

Heisman, also led EC East to a berth in the first Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic Association (PIAA) championships in 2009 as his squad posted a 16-6 record and placed sixth in District 1. Heisman led Springfield-Delco to the state championship in 1992. He also lost in the state finals three times (1994, ’96, 97) and reached the final four six times.

Bishop Shanahan 13, Henderson 3

Henderson 1 1 1 0 -3
Bishop Shanahan 4 3 2 4 -13

Noah Richard 1a
Cody Pascale 1g 1a
Joe Saulino 1a
Luke Pennington 1g
Jack Twohig 1g
Eric Beren 6 Saves

Alex Wagner 6g, 1a
Jerry Riccardo 2g
Ben Farrell 1g, 3a
Spencer Bicking 1g, 1a
Sam Goforth 1g
Eli Goforth 2g
Ryan McNulty 1a
Nick Brennan 1a
Jason Yoquinto winning goalie

Tags: ,


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines