follow us on...

Youth club lacrosse: @FreedomLaxx 2020 wins 6th Grade B title at #NXTCup

Thursday, 17th July 2014

Categories Boy's/Men's, Club, Youth, Posted 7/17/14

Freedom 2020 White won the NXT Cup at Episcopal Academy on July 12 and 13. The team was 6-0 over the course of the weekend.

Throughout the tournament the team was led by goalie Tyler Muir. Muir and his defensive mates, Dylan Kilroy, Gunnar Romano, PJ Grubb, Griffin Pumilia, and Josh Toth, gave up only seven goals in six games. The team played very well in pool play beating, Braveheart MacDaddy’s (8-1), Leading Edge South (8-0), Shamrocks (9-1) and Mesa Fresh Fever Blue (7-1). After a tightly contested win in the semi finals against Team Turnpike Exit 6 (4-3), Freedom 2020 White cruised to a 5-1 victory over a very talented Long Island Jesters team in the finals.

Freedom 2020 NXTCup champions

Freedom 2020 NXTCup champions

Freedom 2020 White benefited from a very balanced attack getting goals from both the attack and midfield units. The attack was led by Connor Roop, Cole Benson, Cole Bertolami, and Evan Measel with each scoring multiple goals over the course of the weekend. The midfield was dominant throughout. Matt Brock cleaned up at the faceoff X. Will Yocum, Spencer Uggla, Mike Voehringer, and Joey Porter played excellent two-way games. Jack Barton, Joe Morgan, and Jared Kolinsky all excelled in transition.

The team was coached by Greg Benson, Jay Kilroy, Chris Roop and Mike Voehringer. The coaches were very proud of the effort, execution, and unselfish play throughout the entire summer. The team wrapped up their summer season with two straight tournament wins and an overall record of 20-5 .


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines