follow us on...

Wolf (@LowerMerionLax) to be honored by National Jewish Sports Hall of Fame

Saturday, 13th September 2014

Categories Boy's/Men's, Posted 9/13/14
From Press Release and Staff Report

Lower Merion grad Jordan Wolf, a 2014 Tewaaraton Award finalist and NCAA men’s championship game MVP, will be honored Sunday as the most outstanding male Jewish collegiate athlete in the country of the past year as part of the 22nd annual National Jewish Sports Hall of Fame induction ceremony at the Suffolk Y Jewish Community Center in Commack, N.Y.

Jordan Wolf (Photo by Rene Schleicher)

Jordan Wolf (Photo by Rene Schleicher)

Wolf was a First Team All-ACC and USILA All-American in 2014 for Duke when he scored 64 goals and added 39 assists. He also had a standout rookie season with Major League Lacrosse’s Rochester Rattlers as he tallied 33 points in seven regular season games and finished second in rookie of the year voting. He helped the Rattlers reach the MLL title game and scored four goals and three assists in two playoff games.

A four-year letter winner for Chet Laubach at Lower Merion High School, Wolf compiled 341 career points from 184 goals and 157 assists during his scholastic career. He registered a career-best 73 goals and 50 assists as a senior when he was named the Co-Player of the Year and US Lacrosse All-American for the second time. Wolf also starred for the Dukes Lacrosse Club.

Additionally, Will Sands, an All-American from Friends Academy (N.Y.) who is currently a Bucknell freshman, will receive the Sid Luckman Award, given to the year’s outstanding male Jewish high school athlete.

Registration for the 9 a.m. breakfast ($25.00pp) or for the 10:30am Induction Ceremony ($10.00pp with seniors free-of-charge), may be made by calling 631-462-9800. Click here for more information.

Among the Inductees is Adam Daniel Greenberg who, in 2005 during the first pitch of his major league career, was hit in the head and seriously injured. An online petition campaign enabled Greenberg to receive a one-day contract to play baseball for the Miami Marlins on October 2, 2012. Greenberg will be joined by Inductees Angela Buxton, Tennis; Barry Kramer, Basketball; Don Goldstein, Basketball; Jay Berger, Tennis; Joel Segal, NFL Agent and Mark Roth, PBA Bowler.

The George Young Award will be presented posthumously to Alan Bluman, Basketball, and the Dick Steinberg Award recipient is Jack Laub, Basketball. The other High School award winners are: Noah Rubin, Junior Wimbledon Champion, John McEnroe Tennis Academy. Lauren Battista, NCAA Women’s Basketball, Bentley University and Jordan Wolf, Lacrosse, Duke University are the collegiate athlete recipients. All are accomplished athletes and humanitarians both on and off the field.

Since its 1975 inception, The National Jewish Sports Hall of Fame & Museum™ has preserved and promoted the athletic accomplishments of sports legends. The Hall of Fame houses and showcases a vast collection of sports memorabilia; provides inter-active opportunities for young people and honors the lives and careers of men and women, superstars of baseball, football, lacrosse, golf, gymnastics, wrestling, track and field, swimming, boxing, tennis, basketball and broadcast journalism, that have distinguished themselves on and off the field.



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines