follow us on...

Twenty-eight Philly women serving as head coaches in D1 programs for 2014-15

Thursday, 4th September 2014

Categories College, Girl's/Women's, Uncategorized, Posted 9/4/14
Staff Report

There are 28 NCAA Division I women’s college programs being coached by women that graduated from Philadelphia/South Jersey high schools.

The new hire this summer was Alex Kahoe (Agnes Irwin) at St. Joseph’s.

Alex Kahoe

Alex Kahoe

The list is headed by Navy’s Cindy Timchal (Haverford High, West Chester University), who won eight National titles at Maryland and is the winningest coach of all time (445 victories). She was inducted in 2012 year as a member of the US Lacrosse National Hall of Fame.

Princeton’s Chris Sailer (Haverford High) has won three National titles and was selected to the US Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 2008.

Temple’s Bonnie Rosen (Harriton) was inducted into the Eastern Pennsylvania Chapter of the US Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 2009 and the US Lacrosse National Hall of Fame in 2010. Rosen started the program at Connecticut before coming back to Temple.

Duke’s Kerstin Kimel (Haverford High) is the only coach the Blue Devils have had and in her 19 seasons at the helm she has compiled a 241-118 record, leading the Blue Devils to six national semifinals, four ACC regular season titles, an ACC Tournament Championship and 17 consecutive NCAA Tournaments.

The list also features two coaches that helped lead Team USA to the FIL championship in 2013 as assistants: Boston University’s Liz Robertshaw (Strath Haven) and Stanford’s Amy Bokker (Phoenixville).

Yale’s Anne Phillips (Henderson) built Owen J. Roberts into a power and then took Franklin & Marshall to the Division III national crown in 2007.

Virginia’s Julie Myers (Harriton) has the rare distinction of being a player, an assistant coach and a head coach for Cavaliers teams that won the NCAA crown.

Amanda O’Leary (Spring-Ford, Temple) has taken Florida to the NCAA quarterfinals (twice) and semifinals after launching the program just five years ago.

Stephanie Ridolfi (Mount St. Joseph) of Holy Cross is the program’s all-time winningest coach and in 2006 and 2007 led the program to its first two Patriot League titles and NCAA Tournament appearances.

Also, Philly grads are heading up nearly all the Philly programs in the city: Rosen (Temple), Candace Taglianetti Bossell (Haverford High, La Salle), Kahoe (St. Joseph’s), Julie Young (Germantown Academy, Villanova), Hannah Rudloff (West Chester East, Drexel), Sailer (Princeton), and Alison Fisher (Hatboro-Horsham, Lafayette). And Lehigh’s coach, Jill Redfern, is an Ursinus College grad.

Philly graduates coaching Division I lacrosse in 2014-15
Amy Bokker (Phoenixville grad, coach at Stanford)
Laura Brand-Sias (Radnor, Rutgers)
Jill DePetris (Archbishop Carroll, Bryant)
Alison Fisher (Hatboro-Horsham, Lafayette)
Jenny Graap (West Chester East, Cornell)
Kate Henwood (Garnet Valley, UC Davis)
Heather Holt (Radnor, Old Dominion)
B.J. (Lucey) Johnson (Springfield-Delco, Mount St. Mary’s)
Alex Kahoe (Agnes Irwin, St. Joseph’s University)
Kerstin Kimel (Haverford High, Duke)
Kateri Linville (Moorestown, Delaware)
Eve Levinson (Germantown Academy, Mercer)
Julie Myers (Harriton, Virginia)
Mandy O’Leary (Spring-Ford, Florida)
Regina Oliver (Pottstown, Cincinnati)
Amy Patton (Unionville, Dartmouth)
Anne Phillips (Henderson, Yale)
Stephanie Ridolfi (Mount St. Joseph, Holy Cross)
Liz Robertshaw (Strath Haven, Boston University)
Bonnie Rosen (Harriton, Temple)
Hannah Rudloff (West Chester East, Drexel)
Chris Sailer (Haverford High, Princeton)
Cathy Swezey (Moorestown, Vanderbilt)
Candance Taglianetti Bossell (Haverford High, La Salle)
Cindy Timchal (Haverford High, Navy)
Elizabeth Weber (Moorestown, Manhattan)
Denise Wescott (Moorestown, Monmouth)
Julie Young (Germantown Academy, Villanova)


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines