follow us on...

Team Advil wins SLLSEPA Master’s championship for third time in four years

Monday, 11th August 2014

Categories Boy's/Men's, Club, Posted 8/11/14

Team Advil won the Summer Lacrosse League of Southeastern Pennsylvania Thursday night Masters League championship with a 9-5 victory over Riverhorse LC at Shipley School on Aug. 7. This was the third title in four years for Team Advil (5-1 overall).

Team Advil wins Master's championship in SLLSEPA

Team Advil wins Master’s championship in SLLSEPA

Team Advil broke open a 3-3 game in the third period by outscoring Riverhorse, 4-1. Scoring was initiated by the attack of Tom Robson and Mike Miller (head coach at Marple Newtown), along with solid play from Sam Adolph. In the midfield, major contributions from Vern Davis, Gary Mazza, Brett Hayden, Paul Carafides, Kevin Matthews, Greg Quintilliano, John W. Dunn and Ned Burke added to the scoring as six different players found rope.

FO specialist Karl Bauer was instrumental in winning key face-offs all night and also scored early in the fourth quarter.

LSM play from Scott Cappelli, Mike Cottone and Brian Delaney was critical to winning key ground balls and forcing the play in transition. Defensively, stellar play from Tim McIntyre, Brian Morris, Mike Rhine, Mike Lerario, Dave Waldman (defensive coordinator at Great Valley) and goalie Gary Dudek (10 saves) held Riverhorse to just two second-half goals. In fact, the defensive unit did not allow a single man-down goal all night.

Special thanks goes out to the team sponsor, D&K Appliances in Newtown Square. Also, Team Advil would also like to thank Wave One Sports in Conshohocken for designing and handling team shorts for the season.


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines