follow us on...

Philly grads help Penn State club team repeat as NCLL champion

Monday, 5th May 2014

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 5/5/14

A host of Philly grads helped the Penn State men’s club team defeat Navy, 14-8, Sunday at Rutgers to earn the Nittany Lions their second straight National Collegiate Lacrosse League championship.

Penn State (14-2) advanced to the final with a 23-10 rout of Cortland on Saturday. The Lions also downed Towson, 10-7, in the quarterfinals.

Luke Thompson erupted for nine goals in the championship win and Jamie Froehlich (Kennett) added three goals.

Junior attackman Blake Ament (Central Bucks East) said Penn State had lost to Navy, 9-4, at home back in early April. This time, the Lions executed the basics.

“I think the biggest thing is that when we lost to Navy on April 5 at home it put everybody in gear,” he said. “Coming into this game we knew we had to beat them on transitions and groundballs.

“We really executed. I think they were expecting to walk over us like the first time around. I think this game was the best all-around game we’ve played since I have been here.

“I think everybody did the littler things better. We got the groundballs and had no sloppy turnovers. That’s how they beat us the first time. They re the more athletic team, so we held the ball long and played much smarter.”

Penn State's club team won the National Collegiate Lacrosse League title with a 14-8 win over Navy at Rutgers

Penn State’s club team won the National Collegiate Lacrosse League title with a 14-8 win over Navy at Rutgers

The title capped a perfect year for the Lions, who also won the Fall Brawl and the Beltway Bash at the University of Maryland.

Philly players on Penn State team
Beau Brady (Radnor)
Ian Allender (Archmere Academy)
President Scott Markle (Methacton)
Luke McCory (Downingtown West)
Matt Reilly (New Hope-Solebury)
Dave Cardile (Avon Grove)
John Becker (Sun Valley)
Jay Eiben (Academy of New Church)
Blake Ament (C.B. East)
Brandon Ament (C.B. East)
Sean Higgins (Malvern Prep)
Jamie Froehlich (Kennett)
Jimmy Cushwa (Salesianum School)
Ryan Glass (Wilson)
Peter Thiel (Bayard Rustin)
Jeff Tinkoff (Kennett)
Alex Hardy (Council Rock South)



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines