follow us on...

McIntosh (@DrexelMensLax) is first pick in @NLL draft

Tuesday, 23rd September 2014

Categories Box lacrosse, Boy's/Men's, Pro, Posted 9/23/14
From Press Release

A total of 55 players heard their names called at the 2014 National Lacrosse League Draft at Toronto Rock Athletic Centre on Monday, Sept. 22. The Edmonton Rush selected Ben McIntosh from Drexel University with the first overall pick while Jeremy Noble (University of Denver) to the Rochester Knighthawks and Miles Thompson (University at Albany) rounded out the top three picks.

“Ben has the skill set to be one of the great off-ball players the NLL has ever seen,” said Rush general manager and head coach Derek Keenan. “He has been an accomplished scorer at every level. He’s a power forward with quick and soft hands on the inside. He’s an unselfish player willing to create space for his teammates.”

“I am pretty excited. I dreamed about this ever since I was a little kid,” Noble said. “To be selected by Rochester is a humbling experience. I am looking forward to the next chapter of my lacrosse career.”

“I was pretty pumped because I get another opportunity to further my career,” said Thompson. “I spoke to the owner of the Minnesota Swarm (John Arlotta) during the week and he asked me if I’d like to play out there and I told him, ‘Yeah’. I like playing in front of a big crowd and just the atmosphere that I’ve seen there is something I’m excited about, and they have a couple of my buddies already on the team.”

The results from the entire six-round draft are listed below:
– See more at:

1. Edmonton (from Minnesota): Ben McIntosh (Drexel University)
2. Rochester (from Vancouver): Jeremy Noble (University of Denver)
3. Minnesota (from New England via Edmonton): Miles Thompson (University at Albany)
4. Colorado: Eli McLaughlin (Coquitlam)
5. Minnesota (from Buffalo): Shane MacDonald (Brampton)
6. New England (from Toronto via Calgary): Mark Cockerton (University of Virginia)
7. Colorado (from Edmonton): Robert Hope (Pfeiffer University)
8. New England (from Calgary): Quinn Powless (Six Nations)
9. Buffalo (from Rochester via Vancouver): Brandon Goodwin (Adelphi University)


10. Minnesota: Joe Maracle (Six Nations)
11. New England (from Vancouver via Rochester): Rodd Squire (Six Nations)
12. Vancouver (from New England via Buffalo): Conrad Chapman (Nanaimo)
13. Edmonton (from Colorado): Adam Shute (New England College)
14. Buffalo: Matthew Bennett (Brampton)
15. New England (from Toronto): Matt Crough (Dowling College)
16. Calgary (from Edmonton via Buffalo via Colorado): Tyson Roe (Concordia University Wisconsin)
17. New England (from Calgary via Toronto): Alex Buque (American International College)
18. Buffalo (from Rochester via New England): Tyler Ferreira (Dowling College)
19. Edmonton (compensatory): Tyler Melnyk (Marquette University)

20. New England (from Minnesota): Josh Johnson (Six Nations)
21. Vancouver: Brandon Clelland (Orangeville)
22. New England: Sheldon Burns (Dowling College)
23. Vancouver (from Colorado via Rochester): Dan Keane (University of Delaware)
24. Buffalo: Jordan Dance (Orangeville)
25. Vancouver (from Toronto): Jakob Doucet (New Westminster)
26. New England (from Edmonton via Calgary): Ty Thompson (University at Albany)
27. Rochester (from Calgary via New England): Brier Jonathan (Six Nations)
28. New England (from Rochester): Connor Campbell (Brampton)

29. Minnesota: Eric Guiltinan (Brampton)
30. Vancouver: Matt Delmonico (Seton Hill)
31. New England: Mike Mawdsley (Sacred Heart University)
32. Colorado: Zach Rogers (Providence College)
33. Toronto (from Buffalo): Brandon Benn (Johns Hopkins University)
34. New England (from Toronto): Jayson Crawford (Brampton)
35. Edmonton (from Edmonton via Minnesota): Matt MacGrotty (Bryant University)
36. Calgary: Pat Henry (Calgary Mountaineers)
37. Rochester: Ian Martin (Six Nations)


Rochester Knighthawks receive the 2nd and 11th overall picks in 2014, as well as 1st round picks in both 2015 and 2017 from the Vancouver Stealth in exchange for Johnny Powless, Joel McCready, and the 9th and 23rd overall picks in 2014.

Rochester Knighthawks receive Jordan Hall from the New England Black Wolves in exchange for the 11th and 28th overall picks in 2014, as well as a 2015 1st round pick.

New England Black Wolves receive the 6th, 8th, 27th, & 28th overall picks in 2014 from the Calgary Roughnecks in exchange for a 2015 1st round pick and a 2016 3rd round selection.

Colorado Mammoth receive the 7th overall pick in 2014 from the Edmonton Rush in exchange for the 13th overall pick in 2014 and a 2nd round selection in 2015.

Buffalo Bandits receive the 9th overall pick in 2014, a 2nd round pick in 2015, a 1st round pick in 2018 as well as Nick Weiss from the Vancouver Stealth for Rory Smith, Eric Penney and the 12th overall selection in 2014.

Colorado Mammoth receive the 17th overall selection in 2014 from the New England Black Wolves in exchange for the rights to Mike McNamara.

Rochester Knighthawks receive the 27th overall selection in 2014 from the New England Black Wolves in exchange for Rochester’s 3rd round selection in 2015.

Minnesota Swarm receive the 40th overall selection in 2014 from the New England Black Wolves in exchange for Jay Card.

Buffalo Bandits receive the 49th overall selection in 2014 from the New England Black Wolves in exchange for a 6th round selection in 2016.
– See more at:



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines