follow us on...

Lax Zone repeats as Millard P. Robinson Tuesday Night champion of the SLLSEPA

Tuesday, 5th August 2014

Categories Boy's/Men's, Club  

By Chris Goldberg, Posted 8/5/14

Ryan Ambler (Abington, Princeton) scored six goals and Joey Palo (Hatboro-Horsham, Eastern) won 20 of 25 face-offs to help power Lax Zone past Barnaby’s, 15-7, tonight to repeat as Millard P. Robinson Tuesday Night champions of the Summer Lacrosse League of Southeastern PA.

Lax Zone wins Millard P. Robinson Tuesday Night championship

Lax Zone wins Millard P. Robinson Tuesday Night championship

Lax Zone bolted to a 5-0 first-period lead and held an 8-3 edge at halftime. Barnaby’s – comprised mostly of Ridley grads and other former Delco standouts – pulled within 11-7 early in the final quarter. But Peter Schwartz (La Salle, Harvard) made it 12-7 and then Ambler tallied twice before Ray Vandegrift (Penn Charter, St. Joseph’s) tallied his second goal to close it.

Kevin Forster (La Salle, Maryland) and Jack Forster (La Salle, Penn State) each added a pair of goals while Rob Forster (La Salle, Penn State) and Joey Jones (Abington) had one goal apiece. Jake Adoni (Germantown Academy, Gettysburg) handled the goaltending and Mark DiFrangia (La Salle, St. John’s) led the defense.

Lax Zone featured many players from the Abington Lacrosse League and others from Montgomery and Bucks counties.

“Playing with these guys is great,” said DiFrangia, who had several runs down the field that set up goals. “We have a ton of chemistry on this team; we’re all from the same area and it’s just fun.”

Palo played with this group for the first time.

Lax Zone's Mark DiFrangia shows off the Millard P. Robinson championship trophy

Lax Zone’s Mark DiFrangia shows off the Millard P. Robinson championship trophy

“It’s a really great group and they’re all very talented,” he said. “A lot played together for a while and they always know where each other is going to be and it’s incredible to watch.”

Ambler grew up playing with many of his teammates, but played in a Bucks County league last year. “I played with all these guys growing up, so it’s nice to be back playing with them when we’re older,” he said. “Especially having so much success, it’s a lot of fun.”

Lax Zone also got major contributions from midfielders Eric Berger (Penn Charter, Monmouth), Willy Beury (Upper Dublin, F&M) and Kevin Sonderschafer (Central Bucks South, Chestnut Hill College) and defensemen Bubba Kluver (Abington, York), Chris Duffy (Abington, Hartford), Connor Resch (La Salle, Yale), Scott Beury (Upper Dublin, Franklin & Marshall), Paul Berger (Abington, Widener), and Anthony Dougherty (Archbishop Wood, F&M).

LaxZone, of Ambler, is a leader in lacrosse gear, equipment and apparel for men’s and women’s lacrosse. Click here for website.


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines