follow us on...

.@LafayetteMLax golds annual awards ceremony

Monday, 3rd November 2014

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 11/3/14
From Press Release

The Lafayette men’s lacrosse team celebrated its annual awards ceremony for the 2014 season on Saturday. The team honored its seniors with framed jerseys and also gave varsity letters. Team awards and Patriot League honors were presented during the event.

“I would like to thank the seniors, Mac Ahsler, Matt Evans, John Floyd, Mike Galione, Brendan Gover, Jake Hyatt and Jake Mann for their dedication and commitment to the program,” head coach Jim Rogalski said. “A special thanks to my staff – Matt Musci and Ed Williams. Their work and leadership keep this program going in the right direction on a daily basis.”

“I also want to thank all the parents, alums, and friends of men’s lacrosse for their support,” Rogalski continued. “Much of this support is behind the scenes and goes unnoticed, but is crucial to our success as a program. This was a great celebration of Lafayette Lacrosse and last year’s teams accomplishments both on and off the field.”

Hyatt earned a place on the Academic All-Patriot League Team, while the Leopards had 17 players listed on the Patriot League Academic Honor Roll. To be eligible for the Academic Honor Roll, a student-athlete must earn a 3.20 grade-point average in the spring semester and participate in one of the Patriot League’s winter or spring championship sports.

Graduates Ahsler, Evans, Floyd, Galione and Mann were tabbed to the honor roll. Matt Confort, Jake O’Brien (St. Joseph’s Prep) and Cory Scheuerle (St. Joseph’s Prep) represented the junior class, while Robert Orazietti, Brody Smith and Kevin Wanke were the sophomores on the list. Freshmen Nicholas Buchanan, Erik Cannon, Dillon Confalone, Matthew Cortese, Keegan Hickey, Billy Maltz and Declan McGuire were named after their first season.

The team also handed out six individual awards at the ceremony, including the Bill Lawson Coaches’ Award, the Academic Excellence Award, the David Heard Award, Most Improved Player award, the Leopard Award and Most Valuable Player.

The Bill Lawson Coaches’ Award is awarded to the player who has shown the ability to consistently impact his teammates through his positive attitude and exceptional work ethic. This award is sponsored by Harvey Cohen ’40. This season the award was presented to Galione.

Mann claimed the Academic Excellence Award this year, he held a 3.83 GPA in the spring. It is awarded to the player who had the highest grade point average in the Fall 2013-Spring 2014 academic year.

The David Heard Award is given to the player who consistently inspired and led his teammates both on and off the field through his unselfishness and loyalty to the team and Lafayette College. This year’s recipient was Floyd.

Matt Gallagher (Shipley School) claimed Most Improved Player Award, which is awarded to the player who, through personal effort to develop his lacrosse ability, has shown the greatest improvement this past season.

This season Gover was awarded the Leopard Award, which is given to the player who has shown the ability to consistently deal with adversity and the challenges of a season through leadership, sportsmanship and dedication.

Most Valuable Player is awarded to the member of the Lafayette lacrosse team who made the most valuable contributions to the team’s success throughout the entire season. Evans was named the MVP for the 2014 season.



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines