follow us on...

Durkin (@LaSalle_Sports), Gurenlian (@sprlax, @PennStateMLax) earn MLL All-Pro honors

Friday, 22nd August 2014

Categories Boy's/Men's, Pro, Posted 8/22/14
From Press Release

Major League Lacrosse, the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, has announced this year’s 2014 MLL All-Pro Team. The roster is voted on by MLL coaches and general managers, and is comprised of some of the best talent in the league, all of whom stood out at their respective positions.

This year’s Championship participants, Denver and Rochester, both have three players on the roster. New York and Florida have two representatives, and Ohio and Boston also have players on the squad.

Chosen for the goalie spot is Rochester’s John Galloway, who was also named the Warrior Goalie of the Year. Galloway had the lowest goals against average (11.16) and also had the highest number of saves (194). He led his team to 10-4 in the regular season, and played a large role in defeating the Machine last weekend to advance to the Championship Game.

Galloway’s teammate, Michael Manley also made the squad after an impressive performance, earning himself the 2014 Brine Defensive Player of the Year award. Manley was a 2014 All-Star, having a stand out showing despite the 10-9 loss to Team USA. The Duke product is tied for second in goals by a defender (6) and has 9 points this year, helping him to be awarded Warrior Defensive Player of the Week during Weeks 2 and 4.

Joel White, another member of the tough Rochester defense, has also been named to the squad. Also among those chosen for the 2014 MLL All-Star team, White has helped his Rochester defensive unit finish the regular season with the lowest number of goals against (166). A force in the midfield, he is tied for 4th in the league for groundballs (81), and has the most thus far in playoffs (12). During 2014 he was also the HEADstrong Player Spokesperson of the year.

The defense is joined by Denver’s Lee Zink, the 2013 Defensive Player of the Year, who has been voted to the All-MLL Team for his second consecutive season. Zink has been a huge part of the Denver defense during 2014, and an integral part of their success. Zink was named to the 2014 Team USA roster, and was also Warrior Player of the Week during Week 7.

The defensive unit is rounded out by Florida’s Tucker Durkin (La Salle, Johns Hopkins), who joined Zink this year on Team USA. Durkin helped the Launch with a successful inaugural season, only his sophomore season in the league. Durkin had an impressive first year in the MLL, being named Defensive Player of the Week twice, and continued his tough play during 2014.

Greg Gurenlian (Springfield-Delco, Penn State) makes the roster for the third consecutive year, having also earned the 2014 FOGO of the Year Award. With a .611 winning percentage, Gurenlian beat out all other top faceoff specialists in the league, helping to lead his New York team to the semi-finals.

Joining Gurenlian in the midfield is Boston’s Paul Rabil, the highest scoring midfielder of the 2014 season (54 pts), who is tied for first in the league, with fellow veteran Casey Powell, for assists (33). Rabil helped lead his team to the fight for the fourth seed in the playoffs, before suffering an injury that kept him out for his last regular season game. This is the sixth consecutive season that Rabil has been selected to the All-MLL Team, and also was a member of Team USA this year.

Ohio was the team to oust Rabil and the Cannons for their playoff spot this season, led by high scoring midfielder and All-MLL Team pick, Peter Baum. Baum came in third for goals (35) after leading for most of the season, and amassed 50 points in the total, helping him earn a spot on this year’s MLL All-Star Team.

Baum’s All-Star teammate and the final member of the midfield unit is Denver standout Jeremy Sieverts, who scored the winning goal last weekend to send Denver to the Championship Game. Sieverts has 51 points (2g, 7 2pts, 19a) on the year, including two goals in the Denver win last week and the highest number of 2-point goals during the regular season.

John Grant Jr., Sieverts’ fellow Outlaw, has been chosen for the attacking roster following an impressive 2014 season. Grant won the gold medal as an a assistant coach with Team Canada this year at the FIL World Lacrosse Championships, and has helped lead his Denver team to the Championship Game. Additionally this season, Grant broke the All-Time Goals Record and has a total of 281. The Denver attackman tied for third in regular season points with Paul Rabil (54) after his 28 goals and 26 assists.

All-Time Points record holder, Casey Powell, joins Grant on the roster. Powell helped lead the inaugural Florida Launch to a very impressive first season, and led the league in points (63) and assists (33). His impressive play this year has earned him both the Warrior Offensive Player of the Year, and the Coca-Cola MVP Award. Powell became the leader in career points, with 468 at the end of the 2014 regular season.

The final member of the All-MLL Team roster is New York’s Rob Pannell. Only in his sophomore season, Pannell has consistently proven to be one of the league’s best. In 2013 he was Cascade Rookie of the Year, and during 2014 earned Warrior Offensive Player of the Week honors for Weeks 10 and 14. Pannell was second in the league for points at 56 (33g, 23a) and was also a member of Team USA.

Cumulatively the 2014 All-MLL Team midfield and attack scored 325 points, including 169 goals, during the regular season. The team represents some of the best talent in the league, including this year’s Goalie, Defensive, and Offensive Player of the Year, as well as this year’s MVP.

Six of these players will faceoff in this weekend’s Championship Game between the Denver Outlaws and Rochester Rattlers to be played in Fifth Third Bank Stadium, in Kennesaw, Ga. on Saturday, August 23 at 7 p.m. Tickets for the game start at only $20 and can be found HERE. For those who will be unable to attend, the game will be broadcast live on CBS Sports Network.

Tags: ,


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines