follow us on...

Women’s recruits: Poplawski (Springfield-Delco) leads Stanford’s Class of 2017 for coach Bokker

Monday, 23rd September 2013

Categories College, Girl's/Women's, Recruiting, Posted 9/23/13
From Press Release

The Stanford women’s lacrosse team welcomes nine freshmen and one sophomore transfer to its 2014 squad, as announced by head coach Amy Bokker (Phoenixville).

Coming off a record-breaking 2013 season in which the Cardinal claimed its first NCAA Tournament victory, Stanford adds to its depth with a class that is ranked ninth in the nation by Inside Lacrosse.

“We are very excited to welcome our freshmen class to The Farm,” Bokker said. “They are a talented group of players that will immediately impact our program. Their overall athleticism and academic successes prove they will be a great fit for the Stanford community and add tremendously to what our current players have worked so hard to build.”

Joining the Cardinal will be Under Armour All-Americans Alex Poplawski (Springfield, Pa./Springfield HS) and Elizabeth Cusick (Westfield, N.J./Westfield HS). Poplawski is a three-time U.S. Lacrosse All-American, two-time Academic All-American, four-time first team All-Delaware County selection and four-time first team All-Central League member. She is also a three-time, pick, a High Honorable Mention Player of the Year choice and a First Place honoree of the inaugural Pansini & Mezrow Scholar-Athlete award.

Cusick is coming off a terrific senior season in which she was selected first-team all-state, first-team All-Stars and Stripes League, first-team all-area and first-team All-Union County.

Along with Poplawski, the Cardinal welcomes four additional U.S. Lacrosse Girls High School All-America first-team members, including Laura Klein (Pleasanton, Calif./Foothill HS), Kelsey Murray (Wilmette, Ill./New Trier HS), Felicia Tissenbaum (Pittsburgh, Pa./Shady Side Academy) and Charlotte Ward (Ipswich, Mass./St. Paul’s HS).

Klein will make the quick trip across the Bay after competing for Foothill High School where she earned All-East Bay Athletic League honors and was selected as an Academic All-American in 2012 and 2013.

Murray is a four-time U.S. Lacrosse All-American – including three first-team honors – four-time first-team All-State selection, Lacrosse Magazine’s 2012 Midwest Player of the Year and a two-time U.S. Lacrosse All-American Showcase participant. Murray holds her high school’s career records in points (582), goals (344), assists (238) and draw controls (323).

Tissenbaum earned All-Western Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic League honors and was an Academic All-American selection in 2012 and 2013. Tissenbaum holds her high school’s records for career goals (237) and single-season goals (102).

Ward was a three-time All-Independent School League selection, earned Academic All-America honors in 2012 and 2013, and competed in the New England Prep School Women’s Lacrosse All-Star game in 2013.

Grace Goettman (McLean, Va./Langley HS), Caroline Smith (North Bethesda, Md./Georgetown Visitation) and Ashlynn Goerz (Danville, Calif./Monte Vista HS) complete the talented group of freshman.

Goettman helped lead her team to two consecutive state tournament finals in 2012 and 2013, and was selected first-team all-region, first-team all-district and District Offensive Player of the Year in 2013.

Smith helped lead Georgetown Visitation to three consecutive Independent School League-AA championship matches (2011-13), and claimed the 2012 title.

Goerz was a Contra Costa Times first team All-East Bay selection in 2012 and 2013, earning first team All-EBAL honors in 2013 and second-team recognition in 2011 and 2012. She is a two-time Academic All-American, receiving honors in 2012 and 2013.

Alexandra Crerend (New Canaan, Conn.) joins Stanford after playing her freshman season at Brown in 2012. Crerend tied for the team lead in goals (24), was third in points (27) and ground balls (17) and claimed 17 draw controls.

With the addition of the deep recruiting class, Stanford will pursue its ninth Mountain Pacific Sports Federation championship in the past 10 years and look to advance further into the NCAA Tournament after a historic 2012 season highlighted by the program’s first tournament victory.

Tags: ,


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines