follow us on...

USILA Awards: Princeton’s Schreiber, Hopkins’ Durkin (La Salle), PSU’s Kaut (Springfield-D) win position honors

Friday, 24th May 2013

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, NCAA Philly Final Four, Posted 5/24/13

Another day, another major honor for Tom Schreiber.

One day after being named a Division I first-team All-America for the second straight year, Schreiber was named the winner of the Lt. jg Donald MacLaughlin Award as the outstanding midfielder in Division I.

Tom Schreiber (photo by Michael Sonnenfeldt)

Tom Schreiber (photo by Michael Sonnenfeldt)

Schreiber had 28 goals and 32 assists in his junior year as he led the Tigers in scoring for the third straight time.

In addition to his USILA honors, Schreiber is also one of five finalists for the Tewaaraton Trophy, given to the top player in college lacrosse.

Schreiber is the second Princeton player to win the MacLaughlin Award, after Josh Sims, who did it in 1999 and 2000.

Schreiber is also the 13th Princeton player all-time to win a USILA positional award and the first since Alex Hewit won the Ensign C. Markland Kelly Jr. Award as the nation’s top goalie in 2006.


Lt. J.G. Donald MacLaughlin, Jr. Award
Outstanding Midfielder
Division I
Tom Schreiber
Princeton University

Lt. Col. J.L. (Jack) Turnbull Award
Outstanding Attackman
Division I
Lyle Thompson
University at Albany

William C. Schmeisser Award
Outstanding Defensive Player
Division I
Tucker Durkin (La Salle)
Johns Hopkins University

Tucker Durkin is just the eighth player in lacrosse history to win the Schmeisser Award twice.

Tucker Durkin is just the eighth player in lacrosse history to win the Schmeisser Award twice.

Tucker Durkin (Huntingdon, PA/La Salle College HS), a senior on the Johns Hopkins men’s lacrosse team, had already established himself as one of the top defensemen in school history before Friday. Now, the fraternity of individuals he’s referenced with will be even smaller as he became just the fourth player in Johns Hopkins history and the eighth player in college lacrosse history to twice win the William C. Schmeisser Award as the nation’s top defensive player when the USILA’s major award winners were announced today.

This season, Durkin led a Johns Hopkins unit that ranks third nationally in scoring defense (7.79). Durkin led the team in caused turnovers (16) and finished fifth in ground balls (32) while regularly drawing the assignment of marking the opposition’s top attackman.

Ensign C. Markland Kelly, Jr. Award
Outstanding Goalie
Division I
Austin Kaut, Springfield-Delco
Penn State University

Kaut, the Colonial Athletic Association’s Player and Defensive Player of the Year, posted a career year with a 7.37 goals-against average (third in the nation) while making a career-high 194 saves this season. Kaut also stopped 61 percent of shots on goal (second in the nation) and registered a 12-5 record for the Nittany Lions. Kaut saved 10 or more shots in 12 of 17 games including three 16-save performances.

Lt. Raymond J. Enners Award
Outstanding Player of the Year
Division I
Robert Pannell
Cornell University

Tags: , , ,


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines