follow us on...

Springfield-Delco to induct Slate, Ulmer, Bowers Scheier, 1966 title team into Hall of Fame

Saturday, 12th October 2013

Categories Boy's/Men's, Girl's/Women's, High School, Posted 10/12/13

Three lacrosse legends and a championship team from the 1960s are being inducted today into the Springfield (Delaware County) High School Athletics Hall of Fame in a ceremony at Springhaven Club.

Tom Slate (Class of ’92) made major contributions to the lacrosse program at Springfield High School. He was voted All-American, All-State, All-Delco, and All-League. Slate is the only person in Pennsylvania history to win a State Championship as both a player and a coach (for Downingtown East in 2007).

He continued his career at the professional level and was a member of five world championship teams. He also has served as a professional coach, recently as an assistant with the Philadelphia Wings, and is currently head coach at Downingtown West.

Dave Ulmer ’82 was awarded eight varsity letters for playing soccer, basketball, and lacrosse. All three teams won league championships and Dave captained the soccer and lacrosse teams his senior year. Ulmer was voted to the All-Central and All-Delco teams for two years in both soccer and lacrosse and was named to the All-State lacrosse team his senior year. Additionally, he was named to Springfield Lacrosse All-Decade team.

Dr. Jackie Bowers Scheier ’01
was a significant contributor to the field hockey, basketball, and lacrosse teams. She served as captain of the basketball team and earned all-Central and All-Delco honors for her junior and senior years in both field hockey and lacrosse. Bowers earned a scholarship to play lacrosse at the University of Notre Dame.

In addition the 1966 Girls’ Lacrosse team will be honored. That club won the Central League title. Coached by Gladys Hart, the team featured six future SHS Hall of Famers including Peggy Murphy Celluci, Patti Kilbane Hall, Lois Davis Hely, Jean Stettler, Barbara Hall Streeter, and Mike McCallister Werley.

Members of the class of 2013 span six decades of excellence at Springfield High School and also include Neal Daltry, Bill Morgan, Linda Rohrer Olsen, Marjorie Grotz Rice, Dr. Robert Sing and Cliff Swezey.

These individuals were recognized at halftime of Springfield’s Homecoming game against Haverford High School Friday.



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines