follow us on...

EPLCA announces major boys’ lacrosse awards for 2013 season

Tuesday, 16th July 2013

Categories Boy's/Men's, High School, Posted 7/16/13

The Eastern Pennsylvania Lacrosse Coaches Association and US Lacrosse are pleased to congratulate the following 2013 award winners.

EPLCA Coach of the Year – John Begier, Radnor High School
EPLCA 276x90
Begier led his Radnor squad to the Central League championship this year with a 10-1 league record. The team finished with an overall mark of 18-5, including a third-place finish in the District 1 tournament. The Red Raiders earned a berth in the PIAA state playoff tournament, where they lost a hard fought 6-4 decision to eventual State Champion La Salle College HS. Begier was also selected as this year’s recipient of the Central League’s Coach of the Year Award.

EPLCA Assistant Coach of the Year – Dan Decklebaum, Avon Grove High School
Decklebaum was the Offensive Coordinator for the Red Devils, who finished their most successful season ever with an overall mark of 21-4, including their first ever District 1 Lacrosse Championship. The Devils advanced to the semifinals of the PIAA state tournament before losing to the defending State Champion Conestoga Pioneers, a team they had beaten on their way to the D I championship. Avon Grove also shared the Ches-Mont League championship this year for its first league title ever.

EPLCA Man of the Year – Jef Hewlings, Strath Haven High School
Hewlings was instrumental in the reformation of the now defunct EPSLA and led the new Eastern PA Lacrosse Coaches Association as President in its first year of existence. The new organization is open to coaches from all levels of play and boasts a growing membership of 70+ members to date, including many who, in the past, would not have been eligible for membership in the EPSLA (which was open only to HS programs). The EPLCA has targeted coach and player education as the main focus of its efforts in 2014 and invites all coaches to join the organization as lacrosse continues to grow in Eastern PA.

US Lacrosse Bob Scott Award – Nelson Norley, Senior Attackman at Episcopal Academy
This award recognizes a player in each area who goes above and beyond in service to his team, school, and community. Like Bob Scott, this player exemplifies the fundamentals of the game and shows a true passion for lacrosse, both on and off the field.

During his four years at Episcopal Academy, Norley consistently honored the game of lacrosse through his efforts as both a lacrosse player and student. His work ethic in the off season was truly exemplary and he set a great example for his teammates. An outstanding student leader, Norley served as the Senior Class Vice President at EA and is headed to Bucknell University in the fall.


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines