follow us on...

US Lacrosse accepting nominations for Gerald J. Carrollm Jr. Exemplary Coaching Award; Linehan (L. Merion) was lone Philly winner

Thursday, 23rd August 2012

Categories Boy's/Men's, High School, Posted 8/23/12
From US Lacrosse

US Lacrosse is now accepting nominations for the 2012 Gerald J. Carroll, Jr. Exemplary Coaching Award through Nov. 15, 2012. A committee comprised of Carroll friends and family selects the recipient who is then recognized at the 2013 US Lacrosse National Convention, presented by Champion, Jan. 11-13 in Philadelphia, Pa.

The Gerald J. Carroll, Jr. Exemplary Coaching Award was established in 1994 and annually recognizes one boys’ high school coach nationwide. The award measures the success of a coach not in victories but in the care and guidance he gives to the balanced development of the young men who play the game.

“As with most lacrosse families, our father introduced us to lacrosse at a very young age,” said Sean Carroll, eldest son of the late Gerald J. Carroll, Jr. “As kids we saw him coach players on and off the field. We are proud that this award recognizes a coach each year that does the same thing. If you look back at the recipients, you see a list of great coaches that are not only dedicated to teaching kids how to be men on the field, but more importantly outside of the game in the real world”

“The Gerald J. Carroll, Jr. Exemplary Coaching Award is a truly special award we present here at US Lacrosse,” said Ann Carpenetti, US Lacrosse managing director of game administration. “It embodies many aspects of what coaches at all levels and across all sports should strive for, both on and off the field.”

For more information about or to nominate a coach for the Gerald J. Carroll, Jr. Exemplary Coaching Award, visit:

Past Recipients
1994 – Mike Messere, West Genesee High School, Camillus, N.Y.
1995 – Cliff Gillespie, St. Paul’s School, Concord, N.H.
1996 – Tom Hall, Fayetteville Manlius High School, Fayetteville, N.Y.
1997 – Doug Tarring, St. Anne’s-Belfield School, Charlottesville, Va.
1998 – John Linehan, Lower Merion High School, Ardmore, Pa.
1999 – John Sothoron, St. Mary’s Ryken High School, Leonardtown, Md.
2000 – Ted Wolford, Upper Arlington High School, Columbus, Ohio
2001 – Larry Briggs, Amherst Regional High School, Amherst, Mass.
2002 – Larry Wink, Tully Senior High School, Tully, N.Y.
2003 – Tom Acee, Henninger High School, Syracuse, N.Y.
2004 – David White, Salmon River Central School, Fort Covington, N.Y.
2005 – John Baker Jr., Chesapeake High School, Baltimore, Md.
2006 – Chris Kenneally, Fayetteville Manlius High School, Fayetteville, N.Y.
2007 – John Piper, North Carroll High School, Hampstead, Md.
2008 – Steve Tripp, Glen Cove High School, N.J.
2009 – Andrew Bolger, Pope John Paul II High School, Boca Raton, Fla.
2010 – Toby Plank, Evergreen High School, Evergreen, Colo.
2011 – Greg Barnard, Midlothian High School, Midlothian, Va.



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines