follow us on...

PLA accepting nominations for 2013 class of Hall of Fame inductees; event to be at Whitemarsh Valley CC

Tuesday, 14th February 2012

Categories Boy's/Men's, Girl's/Women's, Posted 2/14/12

The Philadelphia Lacrosse Association is now accepting nominations for candidates for induction into the US Lacrosse Hall of Fame (Eastern Pennsylvania Chapter). The Class of 2013 will be recognized at the PLA’s Hall of Fame Banquet on Saturday, February 2, 2013 at Whitemarsh Valley Country Club.

The PLA hosts the banquet every two years to honor the great players, coaches, officials, promoters and others, both men and women, who have made significant contributions to the game in Pennsylvania and are deserving of the highest recognition.

Nominations forms for candidates interested in being considered must be completed and submitted to the PLA by May 31, 2012. Nominations submitted in the past, which are on file and will be considered for the Class of 2013, may be updated by that date as well. Hall of Fame Nomination/Questionnaire Forms and the PLA’s Hall of Fame Selection Criteria can be downloaded from the PLA’s Hall of Fame page, click here. Instructions for completion and submission are on the form.

The Hall of Fame Class of 2013 will be selected in the fall of 2012 following a balloting process, consideration by the PLA Hall of Fame Nominating Committees and a vote by the PLA Board of Directors, based on the recommendations of the Nominating Committee. The names, pictures and lacrosse biographies of inductees will be posted in the Hall of Fame section of the PLA website. Their names will also join previous Hall of Fame inductees on plaques located with other lacrosse-related memorabilia in display cases at the “PLA Wall of Fame”, which is located at United Sports in Downingtown.

Over 300 attendees are expected for the event in February 2013. Tickets will be available in November 2012.

The PLA is also accepting nominations for the Trienish Award, which is given by the PLA to honor the memory of Norman Treinish, founder of Ashbee Youth Lacrosse, one of the first youth lacrosse programs in Greater Philadelphia. The award is presented to an individual “whose longstanding efforts, energy and devotion to the game have had a profound and lasting impact on the development of organized youth lacrosse in our Chapter region.” Past recipients include Cathy D’Ignazio (Swarthmore Recreation Association – PAGLA), Jeff Pettit (Rose Tree Optimists – SEPYLA), Peter Samson (Radnor Youth Lacrosse – SEPYLA), Matt Flynn (Folsom’s Boys Club/Ridley Youth Lacrosse – SEPYLA), and Ned Coslett (Ashbee Youth Lacrosse – SEPYLA). Nominations may be submitted to Laurie Markle, PLA President.


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines