follow us on...

Haverford School inducts Dodge (Class of 1986), former AD-Coach Baker into school’s Sports Hall of Fame

Monday, 27th February 2012

Categories Boy's/Men's, High School, Posted 2/27/12

Lacrosse and football standout Perry Dodge (Class of 1986) and former lacrosse coach and athletic director Edward D. Baker were inducted into the Haverford School Athletic Hall of Fame Saturday in the school’s 10th Induction ceremony in the Field House.

Mr. Dodge’s bio:

Perry Dodge

– 7 Varsity Letters: Lacrosse, Football
– Football (3): Co-Captain ’85; All Inter-Ac ’84, ’85
– Lacrosse (4): Undefeated Inter-Ac and PA State Champions ’85; PA State Runner-Up and Captain ’86; Team MVP ’85, ’86; Inter-Ac MVP ’86; All Inter-Ac, All-Main Line, All-Suburban, All-State, All-American ’85, ’86
– Harvard – Lacrosse (4): Four-year starter; Co-Captain Ivy League Champions ’90; All-Ivy ’88, ’90; All-New England ’88, ’89, ’90; All-American ’90
– Drafted by Boston Blazers of the Major Indoor Lacrosse League ’91
– Coached Mary Institute Country Day School (St. Louis) to undefeated, first Missouri State Championship ’00
– United States Lacrosse Coaches Association Coach of the Year ’00

Mr. Baker’s bio:

Edward D. Baker

– Lacrosse Coach, credited with starting the lacrosse program at Haverford School; coached the team to an overall record of 39-21-1
– Athletic Director/Coach at Haverford for 9 years
– Head Football Coach 1958-66: Overall, he was 50-20-2 at Haverford with a 69.4 winning percentage including three Inter-Ac titles (’61, ’64, ’65)
– Coached the ’61 and ’65 teams to undefeated Inter-Ac Championship seasons and held an 18-game win streak from ’64-’66; Philadelphia Coach of the Year ’61
– During his coaching tenure, 21 players made 1st Team All Inter-Ac; four achieved All-City status
– Athletic Director: 1959-67; 28 Inter-Ac Championship teams during his tenure
– Appointed Head Football Coach and Head Track Coach at Kalamazoo College (1967)

The other inductees were:
Samuel E. Ewing Jr., Class of 1923 (inducted posthumously)
1953 Track & Field Team, Undefeated Inter-Ac Champions
1954 Track & Field Team, Undefeated Inter-Ac Champions
John J. Haslett II, Class of 1958
1965 Football Team, 8-0-0
Scot A. Fisher, Class of 1974 (correct spelling)
Kevin M. Silva, Class of 1993



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines