follow us on...

Delaware sophomore McCartney (Arch. Wood) given CAA honor by Inside Lacrosse

Thursday, 13th December 2012

Categories College, Girl's/Women's, Posted 12/13/12
From Press Release

University of Delaware women’s lacrosse standout Caitlin McCartney (Archbishop Wood), who was one of the nation’s top rookies as a freshman in 2012, has been named by Inside Lacrosse Magazine as the pre-season Breakthrough Player of the Year for the Colonial Athletic Association.

A “Breakthrough Player” was selected for each NCAA Division I conference as part of the 2013 Inside Lacrosse Face-Off Yearbook. The yearbook will include season previews, player information, and top 20 rankings.

Delaware, led by third-year head coach Kateri Linville, will open the 2013 season Feb. 16 against Georgetown at Delaware Stadium. The Hoyas were picked No. 13 in the IL pre-season Top 20 poll.

McCartney – an and All-American pick in 2011 – enjoyed an outstanding rookie campaign as she was named the CAA Rookie of the Year while also earning first team All-CAA and second team Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association Mid-Atlantic Region honors. In addition, she was a three-time CAA Rookie of the Week, earned the team’s UD Alumni Association Most Valuable Player Award, and was named to the National All-Rookie squad.

She tied for the team lead in goals with 35 and was second in total points with 39, just two below team leader Chelsea Fay. She scored three or more goals in a game six times, including a season-high four vs. Denver, Villanova, and George Mason and three in her collegiate debut vs. then No. 2 ranked Maryland. She also led the team in free position goals (11) and groundballs (37), was second in draw controls (39), and was third in caused turnovers (14).

Other Inside Lacrosse Breakthrough Player recognition was received by Mikaela Rix (Boston College), Tayler Kuzma (Ohio State), Michelle Rubino (Stony Brook), Emily Doyle (Richmond), Holly Ventimiglia (Jacksonville), Margaret Smith (Notre Dame), Kendyl Gardner (High Point), Erin McMunn (Princeton), Courtney Chmil (Fairfield), Lyndsey Munoz (Stanford), Kyra Ochwat (Quinnipiac), and Ana White (Lafayette, Strath Haven).

More information about the 2013 women’s lacrosse season can be found at:

Tags: ,


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines