follow us on...

Philly men begin tryouts for United States U-19 team; Inside Lacrosse report mentions many that excelled

Saturday, 9th July 2011

Categories Boy's/Men's, Posted 7/9/11

A group of 18 Philly men were among the 123 that completed the second day of tryouts Friday for the 23 spots on the United States Under-19 national team at UMBC.

The 122-player tryout pool consists of top student-athletes from both the high school and collegiate levels. Tryouts conclude Sunday; the final 23-man roster will be announced on Friday.

The Philly contingent consists of four players that just completed their freshman years in college: Penn State attackman Shane Sturgis (Downingtown East, Lehigh defenseman Ty Souders (Emmaus), Delaware midfielder Connor McRoy and Villanova defenseman Chris Piccirilli.

The group includes five members of Haverford School’s undefeated national champion squad, led by recent grads Conor Kelly (goalie, headed to Notre Dame), Hup Hupfeldt (attackman, Penn), Brendan McGrath (midfielder, Princeton) and Matt Walters (midfielder, Syracuse) and rising senior Will McNamara (midfielder/LSM, Virginia).

Also trying out are three players from La Salle, rising juniors Matt Rambo (attackman) and Sean Coleman (midfielder) and recent grad and attackman Kevin Forster (Maryland). Two Conestoga rising seniors made the list – defenseman Jamie Ikeda (Duke) and attackman Bradlee Lord (Maryland) – as well as two recent grads from Germantown Academy, defenseman Bobby Tait (Syracuse) and attackman Beau Jones (Delaware).

Also trying out are: recent Salesianum School (DE) grad Ryan Kilpatrick (defenseman, North Carolina), recent Bridgewater-Raritan (NJ) alum Tyler Barbarich (Twist Lacrosse, midfielder, Univ. of Delaware), and Norfolk Academy rising senior defenseman David Best (committed to Penn).

Inside Lacrosse listed a number of Philly players that shined in the second day of tryouts (see full article). Those mentioned were: Haverford School’s Kelly and McGrath, La Salle’s Forster, Bridgewater-Raritan’s Barbarich, Salesianum School’s Kilpatrick, Penn State’s Sturgis and Delaware’s McRoy.

The US team will compete in Turku, Finland, in 2012 for the Federation of International Lacrosse U19 World Championships.


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines