follow us on...

Girls’ all-league: Regular-season champion Emmaus places seven on Lehigh Valley Conference squad

Monday, 16th May 2011

Categories Girl's/Women's, High School  

By Scott Johnston, Posted 5/16/11

Lehigh Valley Girls League regular-season champion Emmaus led all teams with seven all-stars on the First Team unit as voted on by the league’s coaches.

The Hornets, who finished unbeaten in league play (13-0), were led by three repeat nominees in junior midfielders Angie DeBellis (18 goals/4 assists) and Caitlin Bryan (31/10) and goalie Allison Haas. DeBellis made the team for the third straight year despite missing half the season with an ACL/MCL injury.

Also named to the first-team unit were senior attack Laura Seng (26g/11a) and leading-scorer junior Nicole Schmidt (51/6) along with junior defender Colleen Ehrig (28/13) and senior Katie Stewart. Sophomore midfielder Sarah Kazmierski also received honorable mention.

Emmaus (16-3 overall) is back in the LVGL title game for the second straight year. The top-seeded Hornets will take on No.2 seed Southern Lehigh at 5 p.m. today at Nazareth.

The Spartans (14-5 overall) were also well-represented with seven members of its squad receiving recognition. Junior attack Julia Nemeth and sophomore midfielder Katelyn Ambrose were both named on the first team while seniors Keelin Salisbury (midfielder) and Gabrielle Wilson (defender) and juniors Kelly Hynes (midfielder) and Zoe Lycett (defender) made the second team squad. Sophomore goalie Cailyn Breski received honorable mention.

Defending LVGL and District XI champ Nazareth (12-7) also placed seven girls on the unit with junior midfielder Kaitlyn Wiltraut making the first team and five of her teammates – midfielders Natasha Capecci, Hilary Holecz and Kelsi Krebs; attack Rachel Repash and goalie Rachel Strzelecki, all juniors – were named to the second team. Senior midfielder Gigi Sani was named honorable mention.

Parkland (10-8) placed two on the first team – junior defender Kayla Marsland and junior Elizabeth Seitzinger – and two on the second team – freshmen attack Erin Hudson and Devon Marsland.

Easton (7-6) also had four members of its squad – attack Monica Perla, defenseman Paige Perrucci and midfielders Lauren Principato and Natalie Constantine – receive honorable mention while Liberty placed one on the second team unit – midfielder Annie Burtner – and two more, attack Elly Johnston and defender Melissa Peters, receive honorable mention.

Two members of Saucon Valley (attack Olivia Cote and midfielder Lauren Felix) received honorable mention while Central Catholic’s lone representative was midfielder Lauryn Clouden.

Lehigh Valley Conference All-League

Angie DeBellis, midfielder, Emmaus
Caitlin Bryan, midfielder, Emmaus
Allison Haas, goalie, Emmaus
Laura Seng, attack, Emmaus
Nicole Schmidt, attack, Emmaus
Colleen Ehrig, defender, Emmaus
Katie Stewart, defender, Emmaus
Julia Nemeth, attack, Southern Lehigh
Katelyn Ambrose, midfielder, Southern Lehigh
Kaitlyn Wiltraut, midfielder, Nazareth
Kayla Marsland, defender, Parkland
Elizabeth Seitzinger, defender, Parkland

Second Team
Keelin Salisbury, midfielder, Southern Lehigh
Gabrielle Wilson, defender, Southern Lehigh
Kelly Hynes, midfielder, Southern Lehigh
Zoe Lycett, defender, Southern Lehigh
Natasha Capecci, midfielder, Nazareth
Hilary Holecz, midfielder, Nazareth
Kelsi Krebs, midfielder, Nazareth
Rachel Repash, attack, Nazareth
Rachel Strzelecki, goalie, Nazareth
Erin Hudson, attack, Parkland
Devon Marsland, attack, Parkland
Annie Burtner, midfielder Liberty

Honorable Mention
Sarah Kazmierski, midfielder, Emmaus
Cailyn Breski, goalie, Southern Lehigh
Gigi Sani, midfielder, Nazareth
Monica Perla, attack, Easton
Paige Perrucci, defender, Easton
Lauren Principato, midfielder, Easton
Natalie Constantine, midfielder, Easton
Elly Johnston, attack, Liberty
Melissa Peters, defender, Liberty
Olivia Cote, attack, Saucon Valley
Lauren Felix, midfielder, Saucon Valley
Lauryn Clouden, Allentown Central Catholic, midfielder



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines