follow us on...

Boys’ youth lacrosse: Philly Fever wins 6th Grade championship at All Met Tournament in Maryland

Monday, 11th July 2011

Categories Boy's/Men's, Club, Youth, Posted 7/11/11

The Philly Fever 6th Grade Orange took the championship by defeating Bethesda Select, 7-5, at the All Met Lacrosse Tournament this past weekend.

The Philly Fever won the All Met 6th Grade title. The team: (Top Row L to R) Coaches Perry O'Grady, Roddy Marino, Tom Boles; (Middle Row) Zach Kaut, Chris Morrison, Henry Berg, James Spence, Billy Holmes, Matt Boles, Mac Updike, Chad Allison, Teddy Fitzgerald, Anthony Divario, Chris Hervada; (Bottom Row) Bobby O'Grady, Geordy Holmes, Billy Coyle, Ethan Masucci, Matt Marino, Evan Haas, John Nostrant, Michael O'Grady, Ryan Jacob

The event, held at Georgetown Prep in Bethesda, Md., attracts the top teams in Maryland, Virginia and beyond. The Philly Fever team, from Haverford, started the event with wins in pool play over Fearless Lacrosse, 9-3, VA Generals, 9-1, and Next Level, 9-0.

In the semifinals the Fever downed Club Blue, 8-2. In the finals the Fever met the powerful Bethesda Select squad. Henry Berg got things started by scoring the first two goals for the Fever, but Bethesda kept it close as the teams traded goals.

With a one-goal lead late in the game midfielder Billy Coyle forced a turnover and started a fast break that ended with Matt Boles scoring to give the Fever a two-goal lead and the victory. The Fever received outstanding goaltending all weekend from James Spence and tenacious defense from Chris Hervada, Michael O’Grady, Zach Kaut, and Anthony Divario.

Other goal scorers in the final included Matt Marino, Teddy Fitzgerald, Ryan Jacob, and Mac Updike. The Fever squad is coached by Roddy Marino, Perry O’Grady, and Tom Boles.

Hervada said, “We try to play solid defense to force the other team to make mistakes and it paid off today.” Jacob added, “Hustle is the most important part of our style, everyone contributes, and we try to play unselfish lacrosse.”

Other key contributors to the title were: Chris Morrison, Billy Holmes, Chad Allison, Bobby O’Grady, Geordy Holmes, Ethan Masucci, Matt Marino, Evan Haas, John Nostrant,


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines