follow us on...

Boys’ youth lacrosse: Philly Fever 7th Grade team wins U-13 championship at All-Met Challenge

Tuesday, 12th July 2011

Categories Boy's/Men's, Club, Youth, Posted 7/12/11

The Philly Fever 7th grade Blue team overcame a slow start and rallied to defeat Club Blue from Bethesda, MD, 8-6, in the U-13 AA bracket championship game of the All-Met Lacrosse Challenge last weekend.

The Philly Fever won the U-13 championship at the All-Met Challenge

The All-Met tournament was held at the campus of Georgetown Prep in Bethesda, MD.

Club Blue took an early 2-0 lead and held a 5-4 advantage by halftime. However, in the second half the Fever battled back and as attackman Sean Diggin tallied the game-winner off an assist from LSM Zach Methlie.

The Fever played solid defense throughout and got solid goaltending from Owen Patane and Alex DeMarco. Fever used four different face-off players to wear down Club Blue’s dominant draw man.

The win in the final avenged an earlier 7-4 loss to the same Club Blue team.

“It was fun to come back and beat Club Blue after they had defeated us earlier in the tournament,” said attackman Sean Kelley, who had the final Fever goal. “We knew there would be opportunities to score; coach (Billy) Annesley said that we just had to shoot to better spots in the goal.

“Coach (Pete) Borror’s halftime adjustments held Club Blue offense to just one goal in the second half.”

Attackman Dominick DiStefano had a man-up goal before halftime. “It is really fun to win and improve throughout the summer,” he said. “We have gotten better as a team and as individuals since we started in early June.”

The Fever 7th Blue team carries a summer record of 6-3 heading into its final tournament. They squad is led by head coach Mark Petrone, and assistant coaches Pete Borror and Bill Annesley. For more information, go to

The roster included: Zach Methlie, D; Tate Gallagher, M; Dominick DiStefano, A; Alex Maillet M; Sean Kelley, A; Nick Martin, M; Owen Patane, G; Shawn Diggin, A; Nick Biden, M; Alex DeMarco, G; William Powers, M; Andrew Durham, M; Evan Snyder, A; Chris Ferris, D; Daniel Iredale, M; David Weldon, D; Anders Camp, D; Brant Pittman, M; Scott Wagner, M; Ryan Kinnard, M; Robbie Baxter, A; Tyler Soutendijk, D; Gabe Newton, A.

Tournament Summary
Fever Blue 9 – CMD 5
Club Blue 7- Fever Blue 4
Fever Blue 8 – Jaguars 2
Fever Blue 9 – Fever White 3 (Semifinal game)
Fever Blue 8 – Club Blue 6 (Championship Game)


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines